Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

First Blog Post and Prune Cake!

on July 22, 2013

Today is the day! I’m launching Plenty Sweet Life! The idea came when my grandma passed away and we were left with her HUGE stack of recipes collected over her 89 years of church functions, family dinners and entertaining friends. I’ve talked about doing a blog for awhile and as my daughter and I were looking through the recipes one day, we had an “aha” moment when we came across a recipe for her amazing Rhubarb Pie and read where she had cut back on the amount of sugar for the filling, declaring the new amount of sugar “plenty sweet”. That’s it – the name for the blog!!

plenty sweet original

The way these recipes are worded is so cute – I have to share that part with you as well. So here I go – off and running. The launch today is in honor of what would have been her 100th birthday last Saturday, July 20th. She was a special person to our whole family and we all miss her terribly. I loved her VERY much. She was a great influence in my life.

baby me and g and g j - Copy

I’ll be sharing her recipes as well as those from other family members, some crafts, some DIY projects and some other surprises along the way. My daughters will be helping from time to time and my son is helping me with the photography until I learn more.

So to honor Grandma, the birthday girl, what better way to start than with a cake. It had to be Prune Cake. My kids have laughed at that recipe over the years so I’ve never made it but I do remember having it at family functions years ago. As my mom said, “Oh, I LOVE that cake!” Here is the original recipe.

Prune Cake

Notice the changes up the left side to double the recipe. When I asked my mom about it, she said, “They didn’t do small pans in those days. It would have been a full cake pan.” So I used the double amounts and it made a full 9 x 13″ cake pan.  There is no time for baking written on the card so I baked it 45 min. As it says on so many of these recipes – bake til done!! Ha!

Here is the actual recipe as I made it:

Prune Cake

2 cups sugar

1 cup butter

4 egg yolks

1 cup prune juice mixed with 2 teaspoons baking soda

1 cup prunes, cut fine (they’re not called prunes anymore – they are now dried plums)

1/2 cup milk

3 1/2 cups flour

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 teaspoon salt

Mix in order given. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 min.

I also remembered that it was made with fluffy white frosting so I used the recipe for Seven-Minute Frosting in the Fanny Farmer Cookbook. Here is that recipe:

Seven-Minute Frosting

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/8 teaspoon salt

2 egg whites

1/4 cup water

2 teaspoons vanilla

Mix sugar, cream of tartar, salt, egg whites, and water in a pot or bowl over simmering water. Beat steadily over low heat with a rotary or electric hand beater until the frosting stands in peaks, about 5-7 minutes, no more. Remove from the heat and continue to beat until thick enough to spread. Add the vanilla before spreading.

003

I baked the cake in Grandma’s cake pan, too!

018

And it had to include a cup of coffee!

024

Oh yum! Smelled amazing while baking, too! Yes. Delicious.

cropped-cropped-008.jpg

This is a lovely gift from my aunt and uncle in honor of Grandma’s 100th birthday that really jumpstarted this whole thing. I’ll tell the story of that another time. Happy Birthday, Grandma!

So there you are. First post – check!

Thanks for reading!

2 responses to “First Blog Post and Prune Cake!

  1. […] can find my very first post here. It was so scary in the beginning, what do I know about blogging? Oh well, I love to learn and try […]

  2. […] this one. You might want to try some other recipes I’ve posted. The ridiculously delicious Prune Cake is a great one, or the Chocolate Rose Cake for the chocoholic mom, or even the luscious Lemon […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

