Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Pressed Sandwich

on July 29, 2013

016

Our daughters are moving into an apartment together. We all helped our oldest daughter move in over the weekend. The other daughter doesn’t have to be out of her current apartment until August 31st so will move things over the next few weeks. When my husband and I moved into our first and current house, it was our 10th move in 7 years, so we can’t complain too much about having to help our kids move  – we had a lot of help with our moves too. I kept trying to talk our son into the fact that it was a great workout but I’m not sure that worked too well after 10 truckloads of “workout”. So part of the bribe to keep everyone going was a family favorite in our house – a Pressed Sandwich for lunch. Originally, I think I saw a recipe for this in a Martha Stewart Living magazine years ago.My sandwich is a lot simpler and uses things I have around at the moment.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Pressed Sandwich

Cut open horizontally one whole unsliced round bread loaf (I used sourdough as it was the only kind I could find, and it wasn’t round – more like square.)

Pull out some bread on top and bottom to make more of a “pocket” to hold the fillings

Spread bottom with pesto (I used some I had made and had in the freezer – recipe for that to come in a later post.)

Layer:

Salami

Smoked provolone cheese slices

Roasted red peppers, drained

Smoked deli turkey

Cheddar cheese slices

Basil leaves (I happen to have pots of herbs growing outside our deck door so it was handy.)

Put the top of bread on and wrap in plastic wrap. Put in refrigerator and weigh down with something heavy I used a cast iron fry pan with some cans in it. You can use anything heavy – even a brick would work. Let it sit overnight and the next day it’s ready to serve. We cut it in wedges but you could do thick slices, too. This is one of those things where you can experiment and use any deli meat or cheese slices, roasted vegetables, other dressings such as mayonnaise or vinaigrette. Anything goes!

003  004

My pesto out of the freezer. I put it in ice cube trays and then transfer them to a plastic bag for storage.

I drained the bottled the roasted red peppers on a paper towel. You can also roast your own if you have time.

007

Sometimes its not so easy to find a round unsliced loaf. This one was more square.

008  010

This is after the layering of pesto, salami, smoked provolone cheese, and roasted red peppers.

Then I added the deli turkey, cheddar cheese slices, and basil leaves.

012

Wrapping is a two man operation. Try and get some help – one person to press the sandwich down and one to wrap in plastic wrap.

015  017

So pretty when you cut it open!

A “mover’s lunch”! I hope these sisters love living together and stay in this apartment for a VERY long time. These “workouts” get tougher every time!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

