Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Aunt Julie’s Summer Cookies

on August 7, 2013

I wonder why these are called Aunt Julie’s Summer Cookies? I don’t know anyone named Aunt Julie. Maybe it’s because someone visited their Aunt Julie in the summer and she made these cookies? Maybe it’s because it makes a small batch and then the oven only had to be on a short time in the summer when it’s hot? Maybe it’s because Aunt Julie made them one summer and they were so delicious that the name stuck to commemorate that momentous occasion? At any rate – these might be some of the best cookies I’ve ever tried!!

Aunt Julies cookies

Here is the recipe as I made them:

Aunt Julie’s Summer Cookies

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup butter

2 egg yolks

1 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Roll in balls and dip in sugar.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 min.

006

Grandma was always a stickler for two things when baking cookies: number one, they had to all be the same size. I think I did a pretty good job of that. I have a small ice cream scoop that I use and it works pretty well to get them uniform. Number two, they had to be small. You go to a lot of work when you’re baking and you want them to last. Make them small and you get more cookies out of a batch. I didn’t do such a good job of making them small. I blame the ice cream scoop. This recipe made EXACTLY two dozen cookies.

037

Not only was this recipe marked as “very good”, this time it was ALSO marked “best” and UNDERLINED!

033

I would have to agree with both assessments.

032

I made the glass pedestal that the cookies are on. I’ll tell you how to make these in a future post!

2 responses to “Aunt Julie’s Summer Cookies

  1. Katie says:

    I’m going to need to confirm their deliciousness.

  2. Meg says:

    THESE WERE AMAZING! Scandinavian=awesome.

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

