Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Revel Bars

on August 14, 2013

Today I’m honoring my other Grandma on her birthday. She would have been 102 years old today.

This is a picture of her at age 17.

Grandma D pic

So pretty! Love those finger waves!!

She was also a very good and prolific cook, as you can tell from this picture of her favorite cookbook.

It was very well used!

Grandma D cookbook

Today’s recipe is called Emma’s Chocolate Revel Bars. I do remember this grandma making these bars in the 70’s. This was another recipe I thought was lost and when I asked my mom if she had it – she surprised me and said she did! Yay!

Emma bars _3

Emma bars _4

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Emma’s Chocolate Revel Bars

Cream together:

1 cup butter

2 cups brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

Then add:

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

3 cups oatmeal

Set aside.

Melt together:

12 oz. bag of chocolate chips

15 oz. sweetened condensed milk

3 Tablespoons butter

1/2 teaspoon salt (it says 1/2 T. on the recipe but that seemed like a lot)

Add to this mixture:

1 cup nuts (I used walnuts)

2 teaspoons vanilla

Spread 2/3 of the first mixture (dry) in a 15 x 10″ pan (I used a 9 x 13″ cake pan).

Cover with the second mixture (chocolate).

Top with the remaining first mixture (dry).

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

003

This is how it looks with the bottom layer in the pan. I patted it out with my hands  – it’s thick and hard to “spread”.

004

This has the chocolate layer and top layer sprinkled on.

010

Right out of the oven.

020

They do firm up if left to cool completely.

019

021

Happy Birthday, Grandma!

2 responses to “Chocolate Revel Bars

  1. Linda says:

    Happy Birthday Grandma! I wish I would of learned how to cook like grandma miss her tasty treats! Always had to have a treat with coffee. This one I remember well .

  2. […] recipe is a lot like the Chocolate Revel Bars I made in an earlier post here, only instead of fudge in the middle, it’s a lemon cream cheese […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

