Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Peach Cake

on August 16, 2013

By the time I got this cake in the oven, I was thinking that Peach Cake might be the first dud of a recipe in the group so far. The pan I used was the right size, according to the recipe, but it overflowed while baking in the oven. There was so much smoke rolling out of the oven, following the kitchen ceiling and out the deck door, that I’m SHOCKED that no one in the neighborhood called the fire department!!!! I mean – it was SMOKING!!!! Halfway through the baking, I heard a siren and thought, oh my gosh – someone DID call the fire department!! Haha! Thinking about it afterward, I’m sure that the size of peaches has changed since this recipe was first used. I think I just used too many peaches.

Peach Cake

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Mix 6 or 8 peaches, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1 teaspoon cinnamon.

Then mix:

2 cups flour

6 Tablespoons sugar

4 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup butter

1 egg

2/3 cup milk

Grease 8 x 12″ pan. Spread dough. Pile sweetened peaches on top.

Cream 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup sugar, and 3 Tablespoons flour.

Spread on top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 60 minutes. (She was right – it took longer than the recipe said.)

017

Too many peaches!

019

Looked a little weird going into the oven.

025

After the smoke cleared, this is what it looked like coming out of the oven.

038

My taste tester and his buddy declared it “really good” and “pretty dope”.

That’s all that matters, after all.

One response to “Peach Cake

  1. Lisa says:

    Perfect…I just picked peaches this weekend. Looks deliscious!!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

