Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Bunsteads

on August 19, 2013

Grandma and Grandpa belonged to a travelogue group when I was growing up. Every Saturday night in the winter, they would go to a travelogue, which was a travel movie about different exotic destinations. These movies were shown on a big screen in the old high school turned office building in our town.

I LOVED to go to travelogues and often they would ask if I wanted to go with them. It felt like being transported to these destinations without ever leaving the snowy and cold state of Minnesota.

We can safely say that Grandma inadvertently influenced my love of cooking AND travel!!

DIGITAL CAMERA

After the travelogue, the couples in the group would take turns having a lunch/snack/dessert and coffee at their home. Grandma made Bunsteads quite often along with a sweet dessert.

Bun SteadBun Stead 2

Bunsteads are another comfort food that has acquired legendary status in our family. The name isn’t on the recipe and I think we just made it up!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Bunsteads

1/4 pound  American Cheese, cubed (I used 1 cup Velveeta, cubed)

3 hard cooked eggs, chopped

1 7 ounce can tuna

2 Tablespoons green pepper, chopped

2 Tablespoons onion, chopped

2 Tablespoons stuffed olives, chopped (I don’t use olives – this isn’t on the recipe I have copied down – there would be a revolt in the family if I changed the recipe now!)

2 Tablespoons sweet pickle, chopped

1/2 cup mayonnaise or salad dressing

6 hot dog buns

Mix lightly and fill split buns.

Wrap in foil.

Bake at 250 degrees for 30 minutes.

I got 8 filled buns out of the recipe.

002

It’s a pretty mixture of ingredients.

003

Don’t overfill the buns.

006

Ready for the oven.

011

The buns get crusty . . .

014

and the filling is melty hot out of the oven.

One bite and I’m transported back to the travelogues.

Bon voyage!

2 responses to “Bunsteads

  1. Sue J. says:

    We call these “St.Cloud Sandwiches” because once I made them & we ate them on our way to St. Cloud for a softball tournament . I have substituted diced ham or chicken, too. Love ’em.

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

