Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

3 Bean Salad

on August 23, 2013

I needed something quick for dinner yesterday.

I was canning homemade salsa and it took ALL DAY!

I had no time to think about dinner.

Check Grandma’s recipes and accomplish two things at once?

3 Bean Salad

Yes! 3 Bean Salad and grilled hot dogs? Summer staples from childhood. Done.

Great for dinner on the deck, weekends at the cabin, or summer nights on the lake.

This seems to be about the right time period for this meal – the 70s.

743

3 Bean Salad has another family story that I promised my mom I wouldn’t reveal! Ha!

Note that this recipe is another one with a simple name – Salad!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

3 Bean Salad

1 cup oil (I used canola)

1 cup vinegar

1 1/2 cups sugar

Mix and let sugar dissolve while you open the cans of beans.

1 can green beans (I used two cans of green beans – seemed like a lot of dressing)

1 can yellow wax beans

1 can kidney beans

You can use other beans of your choice.

Add 1/2 cup or so each of chopped celery, onion and green pepper.

Let stand a long time (I made it 4 hours ahead) or overnight.

010

It takes a lot of stirring to dissolve all the sugar. I would use a lot less sugar next time – maybe as little as 1/2 cup. It was a pretty syrupy dressing.

Plenty sweet! Ha!

012

It’s colorful!

017

Thanks, Grandma, for another great summer “recipe memory”!

One response to “3 Bean Salad

  1. […] I haven’t really seen too many recipes for beans used in this way, but I did post a 3 Bean Salad,  in the first year of the blog. This sounds like it would be tasty with either a large Sunday […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

