Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Grandma’s Tomato Soup

on October 4, 2013

Today’s recipe is another favorite in our family.

We have a LOT of favorites in our family.

Grandma’s Tomato Soup is just one of the best.

Planting the garden happened a bit late this year because of the late and cool spring we had here in Minnesota. The tomatoes are going a bit longer than usual because of that cool weather and now we have a lot of them still turning in October.

I picked this colander full of tomatoes yesterday and there are still more out there to pick.

IMG_0849

Grandma and Grandpa always had a lot of tomatoes in their huge garden on the farm so she made this soup every year.

She taught me how to “can” tomatoes every year for making spaghetti sauce or chili in the middle of winter and also how to make this soup.

She calls it Tomato Soup on the recipe card but we’ve renamed it Grandma’s Tomato Soup – then everyone knows which one we’re talking about.

The really good one that tastes like sunshine in a bowl.

Tomato Soup

This is a great recipe to use your excess tomatoes and gives a HUGE boost of summer sunshine in January and February.

Or anytime of the year.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Grandma’s Tomato Soup

Generous 7 quarts of tomatoes

1 bunch of celery

6 large onions

1/4 cup salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup melted butter

1/2 cup flour

1/2 red OR green pepper

Dice celery and onion and cook in water to cover.

Peel tomatoes and cook separately (I cook them together and save a step and one more dirty pot).

Put together.

Add salt, sugar, butter and flour (I mixed the butter and flour together first to prevent lumping).

Cook 1/2 hour and seal in jars.

003

I bought a box of tomatoes from a local farm stand – I don’t always have enough of my own tomatoes to do all I want to do with them.

I did make salsa, marinara sauce AND a batch of this soup.

012015018

This somewhat shows the process of peeling the tomatoes. Plunge into boiling water for 5 seconds (maybe a bit longer), then into ice water for a few seconds and the peel should slip right off.

026

I also chop the tomatoes to help it cook down quicker.

034

I got 8 pints and 3 quarts of soup from this batch.

036

So delicious with a grilled cheese sandwich in front of the fireplace on a cold winter’s night!

Enjoy! Thanks for reading!

Have a great weekend, everybody!

2 responses to “Grandma’s Tomato Soup

  1. Katie says:

    I just saw our jar in the cupboard today and am fighting hard not to eat it tonight. I need to hide it so it’ll be around in January when I REALLY need it.

  2. […] haven’t canned tomatoes this year (I did make a batch of Grandma’s Tomato Soup), but I did do them last year and I have just one jar […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

