Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Apple Dessert

on October 9, 2013

260

This is a beautiful apple I picked in Sweden.

I wish I had more of these apples for today’s recipe.

The recipe I chose to show you today is what our family always knew as Apple Crisp.

However, the recipe card says Apple Dessert.

This has always been our family’s Apple Crisp recipe for as long as I’ve been making Apple Crisp.

I’m not sure about the name thing, but oh well . . .

The beautiful thing about this recipe for Apple Dessert, is that it HAS to be THE EASIEST recipe for Apple Crisp (or Dessert) EVER!

Apple Dessert

It’s amazing how something so simple can be so good.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Apple Dessert

Fill a pan with sliced apples (I used a 9 x 13″ cake pan and apples from our friend Sven’s tree).

Pour over 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup sugar.

Sprinkle cinnamon over top (I didn’t measure – just make sure you sprinkle some on all the apples or as much as you like).

Mix together:

1 cup flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup softened butter

Sprinkle this mixture over the top of the sliced apples. Try and sprinkle it evenly.

Bake at 400 degrees for 1/2 hour, then bake at 350 degrees for 1/2 hour.

That’s it!

022

This is my handy-dandy apple peeler that Grandma and Grandpa gave me when we were first married.

I know that they have them now with suction cups to stick to your countertop, but this was my first, and it’s special to me.

025 (2)

Before baking, try and sprinkle the topping evenly (right, Megan?).

034 (2)

Take it out of the oven when the topping is lightly browned.

035 (2)

The apples will be soft and tender and the crust will be firm and crusty.

044

Apple Dessert is best while warm with a scoop of ice cream or a dollop of whipped cream.

048

So simple.

So perfect.

One response to “Apple Dessert

  1. […] recipe is a lot like one that I posted last year for Apple Dessert, which is the standard in our family for what we call apple crisp. I have since found a recipe […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

