Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Moist Pumpkin Bread

on October 14, 2013

IMG_0855

These are the first pumpkins we grew ourselves!

Small but mighty!

Now we know we can do it – and we learned a lot!

This is the time of year for pumpkin recipes. We will NOT be using our own pumpkins for this recipe.

Today’s recipe for Moist Pumpkin Bread is one that I scribbled down while listening to Joyce Lamont on WCCO radio about 30 years ago. That’s when we were first married and lived in Alexandria, Minnesota.

I know it’s hard to imagine, but back then,we only had a black and white TV and NO cable. Since I was home alone with a new baby and not a fan of soap operas, I listened to WCCO radio. A lot.

I heard this recipe and wrote it down and it’s become another of our family favorites. One thing I love about this one is that it makes two loaves. That’s a good thing since this is my son’s favorite. It was a bit of home we brought him every fall while he was in college.

I don’t have the original recipe that was written on a piece of scratch paper, so I’ll just type it out here.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Moist Pumpkin Bread

Grease 2 9″ x 5″ bread pans.

With an electric mixer, beat 2/3 cup shortening(I use butter) and 2 cup sugar until light and fluffy.

Add 4 eggs, 1 at a time – mix well after each.

Add 2/3 cup water and 2 cup pumpkin and mix well. Set aside.

Mix dry ingredients together:

3 1/3 cup all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground cloves

1 cup walnuts (again, my son doesn’t like nuts in things so I left these out)

Stir into wet mixture.

Bake 1 hour at 350 degrees.

Cool in pans 10 min.

Let cool completely on wire rack.

Makes 2 loaves.

020

These are also grandma’s old bread pans.

030

Cinnamon and cloves make a fall potpourri in your kitchen!

038

This is great for breakfast or afternoon tea.

042

I’m going to sneak a piece before my son gets home from work!

041

It’s really good spread with a little butter!

Shhh! Don’t tell anyone I did that!

One response to “Moist Pumpkin Bread

  1. […] thinking that there may be a recipe of Grandma’s I should have tried. After seeing my Moist Pumpkin Bread post last fall, my aunt sent me this Pumpkin Raisin Bread recipe of Grandma’s. She […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

