Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Hot Chocolate Mix

on December 4, 2013

I love winter!

While I was growing up, our family had a lot of fun outside in the winter: skiing, skating, snowmobiling.

This is a picture of me having fun outside in the winter at Grandma and Grandpa’s farm with their dog, Sport, who is obviously protecting me from anyone who would try to steal that pinwheel!

me and sport on snowbank

I’m 5 years old in this picture and I could have used some of this hot chocolate!!

This recipe is not from Grandma.

It’s a very old  recipe – it comes from my seventh grade Home Economics class! Ha!

My teacher for that class gave me a lot of recipes that I still use today.

I don’t have the original recipe card so I’ll just type it out.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Hot Chocolate Mix

1 8 quart box of powdered milk

1 6 ounce jar or non-dairy creamer

1 pound box of instant chocolate (not unsweetened cocoa)

1/2 cup powdered sugar

Mix all together and store in a large container.

Place 1/3 cup of mix in a large cup or mug.

Add boiling water, stir and drink.

006

I measure all the ingredients into a large container and shake it until it’s well mixed.

013

Put 1/3 cup of mix into a cup, fill with boiling water, stir and that’s it!

034

Marshmallows or whipped cream are great for adding even more creaminess.

My sister’s family makes this with hot milk instead of boiling water and that’s really good, too.

040

Our family goes through a lot of this mix every winter.

018

It makes a great holiday gift packaged with a mug and some marshmallows or candy canes.

Don’t forget the instructions!

Enjoy!

6 responses to “Hot Chocolate Mix

  1. […] not include some Hot Chocolate Mix – a recipe that I had on the blog in […]

  2. […] in a nice tin or cellophane bag tied with a pretty ribbon, and giving it as a gift with a batch of Hot Chocolate Mix. That would make a very nice […]

  3. […] from childhood. I made it often for my own kids when they were growing up, but we also have the Hot Chocolate Mix recipe that I got in my 7th grade Home Ec class, so this recipe was only for special occasions. […]

  4. […] are PERFECT with a nice hot cup of something: coffee, tea, Hot Chocolate Mix, Russian Tea, Viennese Coffee, Instant Cappuccino Coffee, Grandma’s Cocoa, apple cider, […]

  5. […] Homemade Marshmallow Hearts in Hot Chocolate. These marshmallows would be perfect with either Hot Chocolate Mix or Grandma’s […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

