Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Almond Bark Bars

on December 9, 2013

Here is a holiday recipe that I haven’t seen before.

The Almond Bark Bars recipe uses a product called “Clackers” and I had to look it up online to find out what it was.

Turns out it’s a type of graham cereal from the 70’s and it’s not made anymore.

I had to find a suitable substitution.

Almond Bark Bars'

Also note that sometimes Grandma wrote the quantity in terms of how much the package she used costs.

A 39 cent sized bag of peanuts? When did she get this recipe  – where you could get a package of peanuts for 39 cents???

It is a quick and easy recipe that you can whip up in no time if you have the ingredients on hand.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Almond Bark Bars

Melt 1/2 of a large 2 pound package of almond bark.

Add 2 cups of Rice Krispies and 2 cups of Honey Nut Chex (this was my Clackers substitution – I had it on hand so I tried this but I would use Golden Grahams or use 4 cups of Rice Krispies next time), 1 cup of peanuts and 1 cup of miniature marshmallows.

Mix well.

I put this in a 7 x 11″ pan sprayed with non-stick spray.

Sprinkle with festive holiday décor.

Let cool and harden.

078

Next time I would use Golden Grahams.

The Honey Nut Chex was too fragile and made these a bit crumbly when I cut them into bars.

080

Christmas-y jimmies were my décor of choice on top.

089

Quick and easy for the holidays!

094

A great start to my holiday cookie making!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

