Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Peanut Blossoms

on December 11, 2013

Christmas 63 stocking

Christmas is the time of year when tradition is at its best in our family.

This picture was the Christmas I had just turned 2.

I still have that little stocking hanging from the knob on the stereo.

That must have been about the time that tradition started to be such a big thing with me.

To this day I still feel that the year our tv went out is one of the best Christmas memories I have.

My mom and dad and me sat in the living room singing Christmas songs along with our Christmas albums and the only lights on being the warm glow from the Christmas tree.

I’ll never forget that and how special it was to me and I couldn’t have been much older than in this picture.

That’s why I still make the same cookies and baked goods year after year – they bring back all those good feelings of love and warmth.

I kind of think of these cookies as a bit old fashioned since they use the chocolate stars.

These are one of my sons favorites and my mom makes them for him every year.

Today’s recipe says Peanut Clusters but it originally came from my mom and she calls them Peanut Blossoms so that’s what I’m going to rename this recipe.

Peanut Clusters

You’ll notice the “V Good” connotation again here!

There are a couple of things written differently here than on my mom’s original card, but we’ll go over those as we move along.

Here is the recipe as I made them:

Peanut Blossoms

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 3/4 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Cream butters and sugars.

Mix dry ingredients all together and add to the creamed mixture.

Roll dough in balls and roll in white sugar.

Bake at 375 for 12-14 minutes (it was 13 m inutes for my oven).

Remove from oven and add chocolate stars (or I have used chocolate kisses, too).

Put back into oven for 1 minute (Grandma’s recipe didn’t say this but my mom’s original recipe card does).

009

My mom’s card said to chill the dough in the refrigerator before baking.

I didn’t do that and the dough was a bit soft, but turned out fine.

010

Putting the cookies back into the oven after the stars go on top makes the stars nice and glossy.

011

Time for a Christmas tea.

014

Enjoy this cookie – one of our family traditions.

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

