Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Microwave Peanut Brittle

on December 16, 2013

My grandpa was a farmer and when he came in for lunch, he would take a nap on a rug on the floor between the kitchen and the dining room.

When I was little, I wouldn’t let him nap much.

He was too fun to climb on!

I am 1 year old in this picture and it doesn’t look like he minds me climbing on him too much!

me and grandpa on rug

He was famous for making two things: waffles (which we’ll explore at a later date) and his Christmas Microwave Peanut Brittle.

We both used basically the same recipe from a microwave cookbook but his usually turned out better.

We’ve changed microwaves a couple of times and I have had to alter the recipe for the power of the new one each time.

I don’t have a card for this so I’ll just type out the recipe.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Microwave Peanut Brittle

Mix together in a 1 1/2 quart microwave safe casserole:

1 cup white sugar

1/2 cup light corn syrup

Microwave on high 3 minutes.

Stir in:

1 cup roasted, salted peanuts

Microwave on high 3 1/2 minutes until light brown.

Add:

1 teaspoon butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

Blend well.

Microwave on high 1 1/2 minutes more.

Peanuts will be lightly browned and syrup very hot.

Add 1 teaspoon baking soda and gently stir until light and foamy.

Pour mixture onto lightly greased cookie sheet.

Let cool 1/2 to 1 hour.

When cool, break into small pieces and store in air-tight container.

Makes about 1 pound.

These are the times that work for my microwave – you may have to adjust the cooking times for your own microwave.

017

The syrup gets very hot and bubbly.

019

It’s molten lava on the cookie sheet until it’s cool.

004

This was my grandpa’s favorite and it’s one of my sons favorites, too.

Another family holiday classic – delicious.

4 responses to “Microwave Peanut Brittle

  1. KarenDresser says:

    Love it!!!!!

  2. Katie says:

    Love that picture! Lil’ peanut!

  3. Uncle Paul says:

    That was the best and I know peanuts ! I don’t even buy the store-bought stuff !

  4. […] You can see some of the cookies I’ve made on the blog displayed on it: Spritz Cookies, Christmas Wreath Cookies and Peanut Brittle. […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

