Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Old Fashioned Jelly Roll

on January 15, 2014

This Old Fashioned Jelly Roll recipe seems pretty straightforward, but this was my first time.

I’ve never done a jelly roll before so I was doing some questioning out loud – to myself – when my husband chimed in about technique.

He was a baker in his  younger days and he had some tips about how to do it.

Normally I don’t allow his bakery techniques into my home kitchen, but I needed some advice.

Old Fashioned Jelly Roll

Old Fashioned Jelly Roll 2

It is a bit complicated so . . . here we go.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Old Fashioned Jelly Roll

Beat:

3 eggs until light. Add 1 cup white sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy. (My husband says to beat it until it almost holds its shape  – really thick.)

Add:

1/4 cup cold water and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Stir until smooth.

Sift together:

3/4 cup sifted all purpose flour, 2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt. Add gradually to egg mixture.

Pour:

batter in a 15″ x 11″ jelly roll pan lined with buttered waxed paper (although I think parchment paper would be easier to remove later).

Bake:

in a 375 degree oven for 12-15 minutes.

Turn out:

immediately onto a tea towel which has been sprinkled with powdered sugar.

Cut off:

edges of cake and remove waxed paper.

Spread:

liberally with jelly or jam and roll up.

Wrap:

with tea towel until cool.

Remove:

tea towel and spread with icing or sprinkle with powdered sugar.

004

The cake is light and airy.

002

Parchment paper might be better next time under the batter (the waxed paper stuck and took off half of the cake), although parchment might be tougher to cut off.

005

I used a sieve to sprinkle the powdered sugar over the tea towel.

011

The jam I used is a homemade strawberry-rhubarb (which we’ll explore again this spring when my rhubarb sprouts and I make another batch of jam).

This jam is a bit chunky so it seemed like I needed to use a lot of it – if using a jelly, you might need to put less on.

016

This is nice and light and would be great with coffee or tea.

Isn’t everything enhanced by a little whipped cream?

2 responses to “Old Fashioned Jelly Roll

  1. Katie says:

    This was real tasty! I liked that it was light and fruity.

  2. Uncle Paul says:

    Those were a real treat !

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

