Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Banana Muffins

on January 22, 2014

Today’s recipe comes from my mom.

This picture is one of the thousands of me and mom in the early days.

I’m sure there were so many pictures taken so they could be sent to my dad who was in the Army and stationed in Turkey at the time.

I was almost 2 years old when he came home to stay.

me and mom

I know a couple of granddaughters who would love to have those earrings!

I would rather have these Banana Muffins than banana bread.

My mom used to make great banana bread, but these muffins are just the best.

Everyone always asks for this recipe once they’re tasted the muffins.

Banana Muffins

This is a great way to use up your over ripe bananas.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Banana Muffins

1 large banana, mashed

Sprinkle 1 teaspoon baking soda over banana.

Stir and let stand 10 minutes.

Add 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup Miracle Whip (salad dressing).

I also add about 1/2 cup chocolate chips.

Stir.

Add 1 cup all purpose flour.

Mix only until blended.

Put into muffin papers.

I also sprinkle a little sugar on top before baking (I use larger grained sanding sugar used for decorating cakes or cookies – you can find it here).

Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Do not double.

The recipe says nuts are optional – so are the chocolate chips.

010

This is how the mixture foams up when adding the banana/baking soda mixture to the sugar and Miracle Whip.

015

You can see the chocolate chips in the batter and you can kind of see the sanding sugar on top here.

022

These are so delicious right out of the oven with the melty chocolate chips.

022

Thanks, Mom!

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Banana Muffins

  1. KarenDresser says:

    These are sooo good. You are right, you can never make them without someone asking
    for the recipe. With choc chips my favorite!

  2. Uncle Paul says:

    now those were good ! wasn’t so sure about that rice stuff however……….

  3. Katie says:

    The crunchy sugar on top is the best part!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

