Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Lemon Pudding

on January 24, 2014

This recipe intrigued me.

Lemon Pudding is something I could make for the lemon lovers in my family.

It all looked easy enough when I started reading the recipe – and then I got to the end.

No size recommendation for the pan to bake it in.

No temperature at which to bake it.

No time as to how long to bake it.

Grandma, sometimes . . .

I know, I know, I should know this stuff.

Bake til done.

Lemon Pudding

Well – I learned a couple of things when I made this one.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Lemon Pudding

Separate two eggs.

Beat egg whites and set aside.

Mix:

1 Tablespoon butter, melted

1 cup sugar

2 rounded Tablespoons all purpose flour

2 egg yolks

juice and zest of 1 lemon

1 cup milk

Add last (fold in):

2 egg whites, beaten

Mix well and put in buttered 8″ x 8″ pan.

Put the 8″ x 8″ pan into a 9″ x 13″ cake pan and fill with hot water until the water is halfway up the smaller pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

(I started checking at 20 minutes and then went in 5-10 minute intervals until it was brown on top and seemed done.)

Serve warm with whipped cream.

002

I used a 7″ x 11″ pan and it was too big so the pudding got a bit thin top to bottom.

That’s why I would use a 8″ x 8″ pan next time.

That was one thing I learned.

I also learned not to tip the water out until I’ve taken the pudding out of the hot water bath.

That’s another reason to use the smaller baking pan – you can get a grip on it to get it out of the cake pan easier.

003

It was cakey on top and had a nice creamy pudding on the bottom.

004

With the cold weather we’ve been having this winter in Minnesota, this was a nice breath of spring.

I could imagine that we were in Florida.

Where there’s citrus.

And sun.

And it’s warm.

One response to “Lemon Pudding

  1. KarenDresser says:

    Oh that sounds and looks so delicious – makes me hungry.
    I made that a lot when living in Arizona and having the lemon trees right there.

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

