Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Coffee Cake

on January 27, 2014

The recipe I’m sharing today is one that originally came from my mom.

I used to make this quite often and I was surprised to see it in Grandma’s recipes, too.

We had our oldest daughter staying over for the weekend so we had a Sunday morning brunch.

This Coffee Cake was a part of our brunch.

Coffee Cake

It’s another one with the “V Good” connotation!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Coffee Cake

Mix together:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup white sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 eggs, beaten, in a 1 cup measure, then filled with milk

Spread in 9″ x 13″ cake pan that’s been sprayed with non stick spray.

Melt and pour over top of batter:

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used pecans)

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes.

002

The melted butter topping almost looks like a caramel on the top of the batter.

003005

This is the batter before baking and then after.

010

The topping sinks into the batter and makes a caramel-ly crust.

012

Coffee Cake is great for breakfast or brunch.

It’s also great with coffee or tea.

It’s great anytime.

2 responses to “Coffee Cake

  1. Linda says:

    Looks amazing. How lucky that you have your mom’s original recipe! Love it!

  2. Thanks for the nice comment! Yes – I’m very lucky to have had wonderful women in my life who helped me with my love of cooking and baking! I love having these recipes in their own hand!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

