Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Biscotti

on January 29, 2014

I love winter, but this cold weather is getting even me down.

This is what our thermometer looks like lately.

IMG_1231

Yuk.

It’s time to make a batch of something with ingredients I have around the house and something that’s just for me!

I have need of hot beverages.

And something to dunk in them.

The recipe for today is one that I got online.

I was searching for a low fat biscotti and I found it on the Angry Chicken blog here.

It’s become a favorite in our house and I’ve made it my goal to try every possible combination of flavors imaginable.

I don’t have a recipe card for this so I’ll type it out for you.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Biscotti

Mix together:

2 cups flour (I also used half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour)

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

a dash of milk – depending on how dry your mixture is

You can add 1/4 to 1 teaspoon of spices (depending on your taste) or a half cup of baking chips.

For chocolate dough, I usually add 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder and decrease flour by 1/4 cup.

Make 2 logs and flatten them a bit. They should be about 3 inches wide by about 10 inches long.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

Let cool about 15 minutes.

Lower oven temperature to 325 degrees.

Cut logs into 1/2 inch slices (a serrated knife and a light hand are crucial).

Put back on baking sheet and bake about 15 minutes more, flipping them halfway through.

Here are some variations:

lime zest and vanilla

candied ginger

espresso (instant powder) and chocolate chip

cinnamon and chopped almond

dried cranberry and orange rind

orange rind and chocolate chip

chocolate and mint chocolate chip

gingerbread spice

We’ve tried almost all of these variations and love them all.

002004

I usually make two kinds of biscotti at a time.

This time I made white chocolate cardamom and chocolate chocolate chip.

011

I usually don’t let them get too hard – you don’t have to always dunk them that way.

012

I also tried a new kind of tea – Good Earth Matcha Maker.

You can find it here.

It’s my new favorite!

020

These biscotti are just right for coffee or tea.

I’m gonna dunk!

One response to “Biscotti

  1. […] Biscotti is great to serve with this for your afternoon coffee break. You can find a post on how to make biscotti here. […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

