Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Super Bowl Snacks and Caramel Corn

on January 31, 2014

It seems obligatory that today’s post should be about Super Bowl snacks.

Football was a big thing in our family when I was growing up.

We were big football fans – Minnesota Gophers and Minnesota Vikings.

We never missed watching those games on tv and after the game, we headed out to the yard to play our own brand of football.

I could throw a pretty good spiral – still can!

It was something I enjoyed showing off to the neighbor kids when we were out playing football with our own kids.

They were truly amazed.

This football was one that my dad had when he was young.

020

I can’t believe we still have it.

It was the one we played with out in the yard.

Today’s recipe for Caramel Corn is one that I’ve been making since I was in high school.

It came from a family friend and it’s become a Sunday afternoon tradition with our family.

My son is a musician and he’s not big into football – this recipe might be his favorite thing about it (he’s even made it himself).

We made it almost every fall Sunday when he was in high school and when he went to college, I sent a lot of it to him.

Caramel Corn

Caramel Corn 2

It’s pretty easy to make and deadly to have around – it doesn’t last long!

This is a big batch and as it says on the recipe card, I usually make a half batch – that’s what seems to fit well in my pans.

Here is the (half batch) recipe as I made it:

Caramel Corn

Bring to a good boil:

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup white corn syrup

1/2 cup butter

Remove from heat and add:

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

Stir into 5 quarts of popped corn well.

Put into 250 degree oven for 1 hour.

Stir every 10 minutes.

This does scorch easily.

Can be kept in tight container for several weeks if well hidden – and she ain’t kiddin’!!!!

004013

This is my trusty West Bend air popper that I took to college in 1979!!

It just keeps on poppin’!

014

The syrup looks a bit dark because we used dark brown sugar.

I put the popped corn into two 9″ x 13″ cake pans – sprayed with non-stick spray – so it’s easier to stir.

This is why I make a half batch – I don’t know how you would get a whole batch into a container that you could easily stir.

032

It comes out of the oven good and crisp – just like the store-bought kind!

027

This is one of my family’s favorite treats.

Perfect for football.

Since we’re all looking for snacks to make for the big game, here are some ideas from past posts that would be good for a Super Bowl party:

013

Marinated Chicken Wings

084

Party Mix

020

Cheese Ball

Have a great weekend, everybody and enjoy the game!

4 responses to “Super Bowl Snacks and Caramel Corn

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

