Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Waffles

on February 21, 2014

Today’s recipe is not one from either of my grandmas.

It’s from my grandpa.

Grandpa 1956

This picture of him is from about 1956.

He was famous for making these Waffles and this was his recipe.

I don’t care how or where he got it.

I’m just glad that I have it.

On the day we moved to our first home, he made them for us for breakfast.

He was probably about 80 at the time.

When I asked him for the recipe, he gave it to me!

I’m thrilled that I have his recipe in his own handwriting!

He was pretty special to me and to all of us.

Waffles

It’s a pretty simple recipe.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Waffles

2 cups Bisquick baking mix

1 1/2 cup club soda

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

Mix all together and bake in waffle iron until brown and crispy.

010011

This is how it looks when you add the club soda and then when the batter is all mixed.

013

I still have the old waffle iron that my mom and dad had when I was growing up.

They just don’t make them like this anymore.

It’s hard to find one that makes the waffles crispy enough.

020021

This is how the batter looks going into the waffle iron and then when it’s ready.

Yes – sometimes the waffle sticks to the up side of the iron.

023

Waffles are another very important tradition in our family.

They mark most special non-holiday occasions.

027

These waffles are light and crispy and oh so good!

Thanks, Grandpa!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

