Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Magic Choc-O-Nut Cake and Chocolate Frosting

on March 14, 2014

Today is my mom’s birthday!

Happy Birthday, Mom!

Bday xcard

Isn’t she a cutie?!!!!!

She’s coming to our house for the weekend so of course, I had to make a birthday cake.

I found a cake recipe and a corresponding frosting recipe in Grandma’s file.

I have never seen either of these recipes before, but they are both chocolate.

Anyone who knows my mom knows that this is absolutely necessary for her – chocolate.

I have a funny story about this cake.

The recipe is kind of confusing.

Why does it have the word “magic” in the name and why does it say “choc-o-nut” if there are no nuts involved.

Since I had to figure out the instructions myself, I put the vanilla batter in the bottom of the two layer cake pans and added the melted chocolate to the rest and put that in on top of the vanilla batter.

I was still wondering about the magic and nuts.

So after putting the pans into the oven, I finally decided to “Google” it.

This is the ONLY reference to this cake recipe that I could find.

choc-o-nut cake

It was for sale on Amazon – a Gold Medal Flour ad from 1936.

1937 being the year that Grandma and Grandpa were married, maybe she’s had the recipe since then?

Well, my cake will not look a whole lot like the one on the ad.

I was supposed to make 3 layers, not 2!!!

It looks like the choc-o-nut part is the chocolate in the cake and then the coconut on the fluffy white frosting.

I still can’t figure out the magic part.

Magic Choc-o-nut Cake

Magic Choc-o-nut Cake 2

Frosting-Filling Recipe

This was an adventure – trying to figure it out!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Magic Choc-O-Nut Cake

3/4 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cup white sugar

3 eggs, separated

2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 squares (2 oz.) chocolate, melted

Cream butter and add sugar gradually, blend in well beaten egg yolks.

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt.

Add to creamed mixture alternately with milk.

Blend in vanilla.

Fold in beaten egg whites.

Pour 1/3 of mixture into a well greased and floured 8″ round cake pan.

Blend chocolate into remaining batter, folding lightly.

Pour remaining batter into two other 8″ round cake pans – three cake pans total.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

Frosting or Filling Recipe

1 cup semi sweet chocolate morsels

1/2 cup milk

16 large marshmallows

1 cup heavy cream, whipped

Melt chocolate, milk, and marshmallows in a double boiler over simmering water.

Remove from heat and chill well.

Fold in whipped cream.

001

It is a nice, thick batter and putting two layers of batter in was easy.

004

This is wrong.

Make one vanilla layer of cake and two chocolate layers of cake – three cake pans.

007

Here is my makeshift double boiler for making the frosting – a glass bowl over simmering water in a saucepan.

I was concerned that it would be a sticky mess with the marshmallows but they melted nicely.

019

The frosting is pretty soft at first – almost like a mousse.

023

I put the whole cake in the frig and let it firm up before cutting.

030

You can see that it still kind of looks like three layers.

I have the vanilla layers facing each other.

You can find instructions on how to make the glass pedestal the cake is on here.

037

It’s a light, delicious cake.

I think it turned out great, even with my problem understanding the recipe.

No coconut but plenty of magic!!

Happy chocolate, I mean, Happy Birthday, Mom!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

