Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Ost Kaka – the Easy Kind

on March 21, 2014

The recipe for today is another dish that we had at my mom’s birthday dinner.

Ost Kaka is a Swedish tradition and this recipe is the easy kind.

I also have Grandma’s recipe for the more difficult kind where you have to cheese the milk yourself using rennet instead of using cottage cheese.

I’ve never made the more difficult kind by myself – I want my mom to help me the first time so I know what I’m doing.

Maybe we’ll explore the recipe for that more difficult kind at a later date.

We have this dish at all family celebrations – holiday or otherwise.

Really, any excuse to make this is what we’re looking for.

Ost Kaka - the Easy Kind

The aroma of this dish baking in the oven is the epitome of comfort food for my family.

This one really brings back memories of holidays and celebrations at Grandma and Grandpa’s house.

Here is the recipe as I made it (I doubled this):

Ost Kaka – the Easy Kind

Mix together:

1 box of cottage cheese (24 ounce)

4 eggs

1 cup white sugar

3 Tablespoons all purpose flour

1 pint Half-n-Half

Put in 9″ x 13″ cake pan and bake at 300 degrees for 2 hours.

003

It really doesn’t look like much when you first mix it up.

019

Grandma never liked it to get too brown (even though we all like it a bit brown on top).

026

This dish is another one popular with the Scandinavian farmers in the area where my grandparents lived.

It’s made with dairy ingredients easily accessible to them.

027

Out of the oven it’s a thick, custardy pudding.

029

It was an integral part of my mom’s birthday dinner.

Comfort food at it’s finest.

Maybe if we close our eyes, we can pretend that we’re in the dining room at the farm and they’re still here with us celebrating.

We don’t need to pretend.

They’d never miss a celebration!

2 responses to “Ost Kaka – the Easy Kind

  1. mom says:

    SOOOOO YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. […] (I remember a lot of fried chicken), what seemed like hundreds of pies of every description, and Ost Kaka (because the church is Swedish in […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

