Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Potato Soup

on March 26, 2014

This recipe comes from my other grandma.

She taught me to make this Potato Soup when I was REALLY little.

I remember her saying, “this is something you can always make, no matter how tough times are, because you almost always have a potato and an onion and some milk and butter”.

Again, this is someone who went through the Great Depression and had learned how to “make do” without a lot.

grandma d and dorothy

I love this picture of Grandma and her baby sister.

Love the hair bows!!

I don’t have a card for this recipe – it was one she told me and I was supposed to remember it.

I made this a lot growing up and when I was first married so remembering it wasn’t a problem.

It may be cheap and easy to make, but it’s also DELICIOUS!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Potato Soup

Into a saucepan put:

1 potato per person, sliced

1/2 onion, sliced

Enough water to cover.

Cook until potatoes and onion are tender.

Pour out half of the water and add enough milk to cover the potatoes and onions.

Add 1 Tablespoon butter per person.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Cook until heated through.

Through the years, I have added sausage and/or vegetables.

Let those heat through, also.

You can make it your own by adding whatever meat and veggies you like.

032

This batch was for 4 people.

034

I let it boil for about 10 – maybe a bit more – minutes.

035

I added cheddar sausage and peas to this batch.

039

This is comfort food for me.

Tastes like home.

One response to “Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

