Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Swedish Macaroons

on April 9, 2014

This Easter picture is of me with Grandma’s oldest sister.

She never married and never had children but she always made all of us kids feel so special.

She loved to pinch our cheeks and give them a wiggle.

That was her trademark!

easter with Goldie

I still remember that cute little Easter basket that I think was made from a cottage cheese container.

I love that they had special containers for holidays back then.

I still have the big basket and use it to decorate every year.

I also remember that beautiful blue chiffon dress!!

Today’s recipe is for one of my favorite cookies.

What recipe that  I’ve made is NOT one of my favorite cookies?

Ha!

I love coconut!!!!

I don’t remember Grandma making these – I sure wish she had!!!

I’m not sure why they are named Swedish Macaroons unless it’s because they’re almost a cross between macaroons and meringues.

I guess that makes them a little bit different from the regular type.

Swedish Macaroons

There is a bonus recipe of Chocolate Macaroons on the back of the card, but I’ll make those another time.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Swedish Macaroons

3 egg whites

1 cup white sugar

2 teaspoons cornstarch

1/2 pound shredded coconut (I’m sure this is just the regular sweetened kind you find in the grocery store – not sure they had unsweetened back in the day)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat egg white until stiff.

Fold rest of ingredients into beaten egg whites.

Drop small bits onto greased cookie sheets.

Bake in slow oven (300) until brown.

I baked them at 350 for about 8 minutes – they were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.

I like them that way.

041

I beat the egg whites until they had stiff peaks.

042

I folded all the ingredients into the egg whites.

048

I used my trusty ice cream scoop to make about 30 macaroons.

054

I love that they are of a meringue cookie type consistency.

068

 

I really love coconut.

Yep – really good!

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Swedish Macaroons

  1. […] April I posted a recipe for Swedish Macaroons, and I mentioned that there was also a recipe on the back of the card for Chocolate Macaroons that I […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

