Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Iowa Ham Balls

on April 11, 2014

This is one of those recipes that no matter how many times I make it, it still doesn’t taste as good as Grandma’s.

There is just something about these Iowa Ham Balls . . .

They have that sticky, sweet, and salty thing going on, all at the same time.

She was a subscriber to the Farm Wife News magazine and I think that’s where she got the original recipe.

I’m just glad my daughter asked for these for her birthday dinner so I could make them again!

I don’t have the original card from Grandma, but I do have it written in my book.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Iowa Ham Balls

2 pounds ground ham (I used my food processor and it works great)

2 pounds ground lean ground beef

2 cups graham cracker crumbs

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

Sauce:

1 can tomato soup

3/4 cup white vinegar

2 1/4 cups brown sugar

2 teaspoons dry mustard

(The original recipe has double this, but that makes a LOT of sauce, so I now only make half of the original sauce recipe.)

Combine ground ham, ground beef, crumbs, eggs, and milk.

Shape, 1/2 cup at a time, into individual balls and place in 9″ x 13″ pan.

Combine sauce ingredients and pour over balls.

Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

003

Using the food processor to grind the ham works great – I just cut the boneless ham into chunks and then process.

005006

Before and after baking.

I spoon the sauce over top before baking – you could do it once or twice during the baking time, also, if you want, but I don’t think it’s necessary.

011

This would be a good way to use any leftover Easter ham.

014

Or it would be a great dish to serve for Easter dinner.

Sticky, sweet, salty, delicious!!

Just like Grandma used to make.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Iowa Ham Balls

  1. […] Balls comes from one of my mom’s cousins and is similar to Grandma’s recipe for Iowa Ham Balls that I posted a couple of years ago. The name implies, and rightfully so, that they’re Ham […]

Leave a Reply

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Peas Romaine Calm

A simple, easy & cost effective approach to cooking!

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Food in Jars

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

smitten kitchen

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

