Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Bouquet of the Month for May

on May 1, 2014

Happy May Day everyone!

Can you believe we made it to May?

It is May, right?

Because the temp was in the 30s here this morning and after the winter we’ve had, you start to wonder!

May Day is the perfect day to start a new kind of post.

On the first of every month I’ll be doing a “Bouquet of the Month”.

I’m no professional – I just love flowers and I love having them around!

The goal is to try and use flowers from my garden – that’s what Grandma would do – but today I have to use some “store bought” flowers.

We are having a very cold, wet, snowy, rainy, dark spring here in Minnesota and my spring time flowers have NOT done much yet.

029

The tulips are budding but not blooming yet.

030

Hostas are just poking out of the ground.

031

Not much happening with the peonies.

032

Only one little daffodil bud! 😦

034

You can hardly see the lilies of the valley by the green moss.

036

The lilacs are just starting to leaf out.

So needless to say, I won’t be using any of the flowers from my garden for this first “Bouquet of the Month”.

So off I went to my local Rainbow Foods to get some flowers.

Tulips were $7 and they always have some bunches of flowers 3 for $12  so you can make your own bouquets.

So here is the first “Bouquet of the Month” for May!!!

035 (2)

I had time to run out and put it on the deck between raindrops!

I used pink tulips, yellow mini carnations, and spring green mums.

037

Tulips are my favorite!!!

This arrangement will be on my kitchen table.

043

I had enough for a small arrangement to put in my bathroom (to which I added some babies breath).

047

You just can never have too many flower arrangements.

Especially this time of year – with the winter and spring that we’ve had!

038

There was enough to also make one more small arrangement for the living room.

041

These are long lasting flowers – you might be able to have them last at least a week, maybe two.

IMG_1502

There was even enough to make two May Day arrangements for my daughters (sorry for the cell phone photo).

Pretty economical when you see how many arrangements I made for under $20.

So there we go – first “Bouquet of the Month”!

Make one for someone special – May Day is the perfect time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Bouquet of the Month for May

  1. mom says:

    Very festive!!!!

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    Oh yes, hurray for May 🙂

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

