Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

American Krispies Cookies

on May 12, 2014

(Note: I didn’t realize that I made a mistake on yesterday’s post until last evening.

Please take a moment to also take a look at that post if you missed it!

I’m still learning this blogging stuff!!!

Thanks!)

 

My dad was in the Army and stationed in Turkey when I was born.

He kept pictures of me and my mom in his locker while he was there.

112

This picture of him looking longingly at us was taken because he had just gotten a new camera and he and his friends were playing around with it and figuring out how to use it.

I can’t imagine how hard it must have been for him to be so far away and not to be able to be here when I was born.

We didn’t meet until I was 6 months old.

My mom recently gave me two of the first letters that he wrote when I was born.

There wasn’t a dry eye in the house!

They’re pretty special and I’m so grateful to have them.

I’m sure he missed good old American food when he was there (some of that army food had choice names) because his mother, his mother-in-law, and his wife were all good cooks and bakers.

I’m not sure why these cookies are called “American”.

They have Corn Flakes Cereal in them and of course, Corn Flakes are very American.

I couldn’t find any cookies online that has the name “krispies” in the label without having Rice Krispies Cereal in them.

These American Krispies Cookies are very good, no matter what they’re called.

I added the “Cookies” label so you’ll know exactly what they are.

American Krispies Cookies

American Krispies Cookies 2

There are a lot of ingredients and this recipe made about 6 dozen.

Here is the recipe as I made them:

American Krispies Cookies

Mix:

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup oil (I used canola)

1 cup butter

1 egg

Add:

1 cup crushed Corn Flakes Cereal

1 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup coconut

1/2 cup nuts, chopped (I used pecans)

1 rounded Tablespoon sour cream

3 1/2 cups sifted – flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup chopped raisins (I don’t know why she has to add to just half of the batter. I added them to the whole thing.)

There are  no baking instructions again here.

I baked them at 375 degrees for 12-14 minutes.

I did use my ice cream scoop to make the balls – the dough seemed a bit soft to try to roll into balls.

Before baking, I did flatten the balls with a glass dipped in sugar, but not powdered sugar.

022

This is my shiny new ice cream scoop – works great!

029030

I did one pan of the cookies without flattening and they were just fine.

I flattened the rest and they were just fine also, but maybe a bit more krispy.

045

LOVE the scoop – they’re all the same size.

060

The cookies come out krispie and delicious!

062

I had a little problem staying away from these.

It was necessary to put them into the freezer FAST!!!!

They’re VERY good!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

