Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Baked Beans

on May 23, 2014

This weekend is the official start of summer. That means we’re all going to have the usual festivities to both attend and give: picnics, parties, celebrations of all kinds. Some of us might even be lucky enough to be “going to the lake”. This picture is of one certain trip to Big Pine Lake that Grandma and Grandpa took the family on when my mom and my uncle were little. Mom’s grandma and grandpa, aunts, uncles, and cousins all went on this trip and it was a big deal. She still talks about it today. When taking part in these festivities, there is one thing that is absolutely essential – FOOD!

Big Pine Lake

There are few things as essential to the recipes you need in your back pocket as Baked Beans. They’re one of the mandatory summer food items that show up at just about every celebration. Yes – it’s easy to open up a can and doctor them up, but this recipe is so easy you may never open a can again. This recipe comes from another one of Grandma’s sisters. I think it’s the recipe Grandma used because I remember she baked hers in the oven, and that’s how these are done.

Baked Beans

I have to admit that I had never done baked beans from scratch before, but I loved the ones that Grandma used to make and so I was all for giving it a try.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Baked Beans

Soak 2 cups of dried navy beans overnight (I didn’t get going soon enough so I did a quick method that I found here).

Drain.

Cover beans with water and cook until tender (this took me about a half hour or so).

Add:

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

3 Tablespoons molasses

1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

1 medium onion, diced

2 Tablespoons ketsup

1/3 pound salt pork or bacon, diced (I used bacon)

Boil 1/2 hour more.

Put beans in casserole (I also covered them with foil) and bake at 300-325 degrees for 4 hours.

128

This is after mixing everything in but before boiling for 1/2 hour.

134

After boiling for 1/2 hour, things are starting to look mighty good.

175

When the baking time is done, the bacon is crispy and the beans have plumped up and the whole thing has almost caramelized.

181

I have to say these are some of the best baked beans I’ve ever had.

This is the way they should be done.

Give this one a try – you’ll be glad to have these at your next summer celebration!

 

 

 

4 responses to “Baked Beans

  1. Ted Luoma says:

    I love baked beans. Those look really delicious. I’ve always wanted to try baked beans from scratch instead of punching up a can of Bush’s.

  2. […] (see the Salad category on the right of this page – this included a lot of those recipes), Baked Beans, chips, and desserts (there was usually a Bundt Cake and some Homemade Ice Cream in there […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

