Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Rhubarb Jam

on May 28, 2014

I love spring. Spring is even more wonderful than usual this year because of the long winter we’ve had. It’s the time for green grass, for flowers like lilacs and lily of the valley, and spring is the time for things like prom. This picture is of my mom and dad before their senior prom in 1958. Don’t they look great?!! This is the only time I’ve seen my dad wearing a white coat – he was a jeans and flannel kind of guy. My mom is looking beautiful in that pink formal and crinolines. Check out the ’56 Ford sitting behind them (I know there are many stories about that car and some possible racing). I love this picture!

19

Spring is also, as we well know, the time for rhubarb. I’ve been trying to share one recipe per week of this wonderful fruit/vegetable. Today’s recipe for Rhubarb Jam is an old family favorite. We have so much rhubarb this time of year and this jam is so good. I love it on toast. I love it on muffins. I love it on ice cream. You can put this anywhere because it’s just that delicious. It’s the easiest jam you could possibly make and the fact that you can keep it in the refrigerator is another plus. It maybe should be called Rhubarb Refrigerator Jam. We do have this written down but I found this recipe in the old church cookbook my mom gave me. This is the one we’ve used.

rhubarb jam

Man, I love this jam.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Rhubarb Jam

Mix together:

5 cups rhubarb, diced

3 cups white sugar

Let stand overnight (I let it stand on my kitchen counter but you could put it in the refrigerator if you feel better – it may not get as juicy).

Cook 20 minutes slowly – until it comes to a boil.

Add one 3 ounce box of Strawberry Jello.

Stir until dissolved.

Pour into sterilized jars with lids.

Store in refrigerator.

I would say it keeps for a month or two, but I have had it last for a year.

034

I use old jars as long as they’re clean and have a screw on lid – they’re good for gift giving.

039

This jam is great with butter on toast or English muffins – or even plain!

041

What a fabulous way to use up more of your abundance of rhubarb.

This recipe is so easy and so good – it’s a bit of springtime in your mouth!

Give it a try!

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Rhubarb Jam

  1. […] You could try other kinds of cake, maybe chocolate or yellow, but I think white cake is perfect for this recipe. You could also try different kinds of jam or fruit on white cake, like blueberry or strawberry or blackberry or orange marmalade or rhubarb (homemade rhubarb jam, of course – you can find a recipe for that here). […]

  2. […] Rhubarb Muffins, Rhubarb Cream Delight, Rhubarb Crunch, Rhubarb Crunch #2, Orange Rhubarb Pie, Rhubarb Jam, Rhubarb Torte, and Rhubarb Sauce. When I planted my first rhubarb plant many years ago, I did buy […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

