Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Herb Pots

on June 11, 2014

I love fresh herbs. I plant Herb Pots every year and put them on our deck right outside the kitchen door. It’s so handy to have them right there when you need them. It couldn’t be easier to plant a few pots of herbs for your kitchen use. I’ll tell you how to do it if you promise to give it a try!

054

Start with a large enough pot and put in some pebbles, broken pot shards, or plastic peanuts in the bottom of the pot for good drainage.

Then add a good organic potting soil.

057

I put most of my herbs together in one big pot.

092

The only herb I always put in its own pot is mint, which can take over if it doesn’t have its own space.

060

Here I’ve planted basil (in the back), sage (in the middle), thyme (to the left), and oregano (to the right).

I did eventually plant some rosemary but he also has his own pot since I didn’t leave room for him in the big pot.

091

There you go – all set to grow and use in my cooking all summer long.

Remember – the more you cut them off and use them, the more they’ll grow.

Just leave some leaves on a stem and don’t cut them down to nothing.

002

This photo was taken only two weeks later!

I’ve already used some of the basil for a salad and some of the mint in the Spiced Tea that was on the blog in May – you can find the recipe here.

This is how fast they grow!

At the end of the summer, I dry some, I freeze some in ice-cube trays with water (thaw on a paper towel and you have only the herb left), and I bring the rest into the house to use for as long as they’ll last. This is too easy to do to not do it!!! Plant some herbs and enjoy that freshness all summer long!

 

 

7 responses to “Herb Pots

  1. Katie says:

    You should share how to make those cute plant markers! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the idea – already posting next week!

  3. […] post is something a little bit different. I showed you last week how to plant Herb Pots here. You might have seen the cute little plant markers sticking out of the planters. Well, today […]

  4. […] Find the tutorial for those here. […]

  5. […] I was also able to use the mint from my herb pots from my deck. You can find a post about them here. […]

  6. […] and it’s so handy to use them all summer long! I have shown you the pots in a post called Herb Pots. Now is the time to bring the herbs into the kitchen to either use this way, make treats like […]

  7. […] a tablespoon of butter, add salt and pepper and a couple of tablespoons of fresh rosemary (from my herb pot on the deck) at the end. […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

