Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Choc-Toffee Bars

on June 20, 2014

Summertime, like every season, holds so many memories for me. This picture is at a cabin rented when my dad first met me. I was about 7 months old. He was home on leave (he was in the Army and stationed in Turkey) and it sure looks like we had fun! It was the beginning of my lifelong obsession with the water! Maybe this rental was when my parents decided to buy their first home on a lake.

Father's Day 2014

Summer was so special when I was growing up. How can it not be when you live on a lake? Those memories sustain me now in the summertime when I get homesick for the lake and those wonderful, action-packed, fun-filled childhood days. It was so much fun. We had no air conditioning in our house. If it got too hot, we’d just go swimming! We were always on the lookout for summer treats that were either no-bake or quick to bake. This one doesn’t heat up your kitchen too much – just bake the one pan instead of several pans of cookies. I’m not sure if it’s supposed to be Chocolate-Toffee Bars or not. Any way you spell it, these Choc-Toffee Bars are so good. Anyone who likes chocolate chip cookies will like these. They mix up just like cookies and you just spread them in the pan and bake.

Choc-Toffee Bars

These are now one of my favorites!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Choc-Toffee Bars

Mix together:

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup chocolate chips or 6 ounce semi-sweet chocolate bar

1/2 cup toasted almonds, chopped or pecans (I used pecans)

Spread in ungreased jelly roll pan.

Bake at 350 degrees until done but no more than 25 minutes (I would check at 20 min.).

074080

I patted the dough into the jelly roll pan.

They look just like chocolate chip cookies when baked!

094

This is a thin bar and bakes up a bit firm.

100

I would describe these bars as having a toasted caramel flavor.

106

A bit like a cookie.

A bit like a bar.

I’m glad they bake up quick.

The faster they’re done, the faster they’re gone.

So good.

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Choc-Toffee Bars

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

