Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Miracle Whip Cake with Chocolate Chip Glaze

on June 27, 2014

Today is throwback to the ’70s day. This picture from the ’70s is of me and my sister giving our dog, Champ, a bath. Every time we gave her a bath, she’d go right down to the lakeshore, find a dead fish, and roll on it. Needless to say, we didn’t give her a bath very often. More than likely I just thought she needed one! SHE obviously didn’t think she needed one. So funny. Check out my groovy striped pants!

492

The recipe for today is also a throwback to the ’70s. Miracle Whip Cake is just so GOOD! It always seemed so funny to make a cake with Miracle Whip. I’m not sure where my mom got this recipe, but I love it. It brings me back to the ’70s when I even say the name of this cake. This is one of those recipes I’m glad I found again in my mom’s recipe box. I thought it was gone forever!

Miracle Whip Cake

It’s so easy and really is good.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Miracle Whip Cake

1 cup salad dressing

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup white sugar

4 Tablespoons cocoa

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 cup cold water

2 teaspoons vanilla

Mix all together.

It doesn’t say what kind of pan to bake this in, so I used a bundt pan – I feel like that’s what we used in the ’70s.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

Chocolate Chip Glaze (from my good old Betty Crocker cookbook)

1/2 cup chocolate chips

2 Tablespoons butter

1 Tablespoon light corn syrup

Melt over low heat stirring constantly until completely melted.

Cool slightly before pouring over cake.

You can find the bundt pan and instructional videos on the Nordic Ware website here.

063068

I dusted the bundt pan with cocoa before pouring batter into pan.

076077

I had a few spots that stuck to the pan, but they were covered up by the Chocolate Chip Glaze.

131

This makes a dense, dark, very moist cake.

132

Try out this throwback to the 70s!

It’s delicious!

 

 

2 responses to “Miracle Whip Cake with Chocolate Chip Glaze

  1. mom says:

    LOVE THAT RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. mom says:

    LOVE THAT PICTURE!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

