Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Blueberry Pie

on June 30, 2014

I’m kind of famous for making this Blueberry Pie. Haha! I originally found the recipe in the June/July 1992 issue of Martha Stewart Living magazine and I’ve been making it ever since. It’s become a 4th of July and summer tradition in our family. There have been several people who, when served this pie, asked if it was ok to lick the plate when they were done. Yes – it’s that good! And yes – it’s ok! Now is the time to make this pie when blueberries are plentiful and less expensive. Some day I’d like to try to make it with wild Minnesota blueberries. That would be fun and amazing. I’ll type out the recipe here since I don’t have anything but the old magazine to go by.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Blueberry Pie

It’s easy to double both the pie crust and filling when making this so you can make two at a time. I only made one pie here.

You will need both a top and bottom crust.

You can find a recipe for pie crust in an earlier post here.

3 pints fresh blueberries

1 cup plus 1 Tablespoon white sugar

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Grated zest and juice of 1/2 lemon

1 large egg beaten with 1 teaspoon water, for glaze

Line a pie tin with dough and chill thoroughly.

Roll out circle of dough at least 10″ in diameter and chill on a cookie sheet.

In a large bowl, combine berries, 1 cup sugar, flour, and lemon zest and juice.

Fill chilled pie shell with berry mixture.

Top with pastry circle.

Trim overhanging pastry to within 3/4 inch and crimp edges together to seal.

Cut slits or holes in top crust to let steam escape.

Chill pie for 30 minutes.

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Brush pie with egg glaze and sprinkle with remaining 1 Tablespoon sugar.

Bake 50 to 60 minutes, or until juices are bubbling and crust is golden brown.

004

Blueberries are so plentiful and beautiful right now.

013

The lemon brightens up and adds a nice flavor to this pie.

020

I should have left a bit more dough on the edge of the bottom crust, but it worked out just fine.

023

For some reason I got a crease up the middle of the top crust.

Just disregard that.

Pretend you didn’t see it.

042

This pie holds its shape better than you would think.

048

Blueberry pie is delicious and such a great summer tradition.

Seriously.

Go ahead and lick the plate!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Blueberry Pie

  1. […] combination sounded just right (actually it’s the same flavor combination as my Blueberry Pie). They were a hit! I’ll be making a lot of these for the rest of the summer. I might even try […]

  2. […] I started making cherry pie when I was about 10 years old and probably haven’t made it since I was about 12. Even though cherry pie is my husband’s favorite, I haven’t made it over the years –  I mean really, you just open a can. Ha. I moved on to bigger and better things – like Blueberry Pie. […]

  3. […] loved it, too. In fact, my husband loved it so much that he declared it his #2 favorite behind Blueberry Pie. Now that’s really saying […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

