Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Creamy Lemon Popsicles with Blueberries

on July 14, 2014

Summer can be hot – even in Minnesota – and I’m always looking for a cool treat to beat the heat. Popsicles are always good with their icy, sweet specialness, and how they give you brain freeze. This picture is of my mom and some of her cousins enjoying popsicles in the 1940s (wow – they had popsicles way back then? Ha!). My mom is the one on the right.

cousins and popsicles

These Creamy Lemon Popsicles with Blueberries are my husbands favorite treat! I found this recipe last summer on the Gimme Some Oven blog and I make them all the time. You can find the original recipe here. I added blueberries this time because my husband also loves blueberries and that lemon/blueberry combination sounded just right (actually it’s the same flavor combination as my Blueberry Pie). They were a hit! I’ll be making a lot of these for the rest of the summer. I might even try them with strawberries or raspberries.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Creamy Lemon Popsicles with Blueberries

1/2 cup white sugar

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

2 Tablespoons grated lemon peel

Pinch of salt

1 1/4 cup buttermilk

Whisk together sugar, lemon juice, lemon peel, and salt in a large bowl until sugar dissolves. Whisk in buttermilk.

Divide mixture among popsicle molds. Cover, insert sticks, and freeze until firm, at least 4 hours and up to 5 days.

You can find popsicle molds here or use paper cups.

005

I put the blueberries into the molds and then mixed all of the ingredients in a measuring cup with a spout so it’s easier to pour the liquid into the molds.

008

When putting on the lid and inserting the sticks, I’d recommend getting the sticks as straight up and down and as even as possible. It makes getting the cover off easier. The sticks I used aren’t too uniform in size and some of them don’t fit into the slots. I had to try a few to find 8 the right size.

019

You can see the flecks of lemon peel and the berries.

020

This is a cool and icy treat for the summer, with minimal brain freeze.

It all depends on how fast you eat them.

 

 

 

One response to “Creamy Lemon Popsicles with Blueberries

  1. […] Creamy Lemon Popsicles with Blueberries […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

