Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Broken Glass Dessert

on July 30, 2014

The recipe for today is Broken Glass Dessert. I’ve also seen it called Sea Glass Dessert. Either way – it’s a fun, easy, summery dessert that you and your family or guests will love. I think this would be fun for anyone who has weekend guests at a lake cabin. If I had known about this one earlier, I would have made it for our week at the lake. We rented a cabin on a lake  very close to the where I grew up, and this lake is known for its sea glass. When I was little, we would go to this particular lake for picnics and after finding a piece of sea glass on the beach there, I was hooked. I love sea glass.

Broken Glass Dessert

I’m 3 years old in this picture and I’m sure that’s about the time I started hunting for it. It amazes me that it’s been in the water long enough for the edges to wear down. It might have been in there for 50 years! This summer is the second time we’ve stayed at this particular cabin, and both times we’ve found cups full of sea glass. It’s become tradition for my kids and my nephew (and ME) to hunt for it. There are recipes for Sea Glass Candy, also, which looks fun. I have to try that next time we rent that cabin.

Broken Glass Dessert

This recipe is not difficult, but does take a couple of days. Make sure you have time for everything to chill appropriately.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Broken Glass Dessert

Dissolve 3 kinds of jello (I used lime, lemon, and blue) each one in 1 1/2 cups of boiling water.

Chill in refrigerator (I had it in overnight) and cut into cubes.

Dissolve 1 package of plain Knox gelatin in 1/2 cup cold water.

Add 1 cup hot pineapple juice and let start to thicken (I put this into the refrigerator for about 15-20 min).

Whip 1 1/2 cups heavy cream and add 1/2 cup white sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla.

Fold whipped cream into gelatin mixture.

Fold in jello cubes.

Chill until firm.

003005

I used glass containers to chill the jello and it was very easy to cut the cubes in them.

008

They look so pretty – like glass!

013

Mixing the cubes with the whipped cream mixture binds them together.

017

So glassy, so sparkly, so summery, so good!

Serve this dessert and get in the mood to hunt for some sea glass.

Happy hunting!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

