Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Dessert #2

on August 6, 2014

Don’t let the name of this recipe fool you. It may have a simple name and be simple to make, but this Dessert #2 (#2 because there are more than one “Dessert” recipes) is really delicious and looks so impressive. This is my new favorite summer dessert. I’ve had my eye on this recipe since the first day I saw it, because I love coconut macaroons and I love sherbet. There are a lot of summer desserts in Grandma’s file and this is another great one. Grandma is holding her baby brother in this photo and it looks like it was taken in the summer time. I’m sure they didn’t make this particular dessert until they had a refrigerator/freezer. At the time of this photo, the family may have only had an ice box. Blocks of ice may have helped keep things cool, but I don’t think it was possible to freeze anything.

8

Grandma looks so proud! It almost looks like he’s wearing the baptismal dress that Grandma’s mother made for her. You can read about that story here.  I love his little shoes!

Dessert

Note the “Very Good” connotation again here!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Dessert

Whip:

2 cups whipping cream

3 Tablespoons white sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Fold in:

12 chopped macaroon cookies (or maybe any cookie of your choice)

3/4 to 1 cup walnuts, chopped (I didn’t use nuts)

Freeze about half of mixture in pan (she doesn’t have the size mentioned here so I used a 7″ x 11″ pan).

I also used just a bit of non-stick spray in the bottom of the pan.

Next, put on using small spoon :

1 pint lime sherbet

1 pint raspberry sherbet

1 pint lemon sherbet

Put on other half of whipped cream mixture.

Freeze.

002

I found these cute little macaroons at Target.

008

Once I put half of the whipped cream mixture into the pan, I used a small offset spatula to smooth it out.

011012

Use a small spoon to put the softened sherbet on top of the whipped cream layer. Smooth out each layer before adding the next. I couldn’t find lemon sherbet so I just used lime and raspberry and put a little more than a pint on. We decided that we should try pineapple sherbet next for a pina colada flavor.

091

It’s so pretty with the layers of cool sherbet. I think it’s important to experiment. Maybe try different cookies and nuts chopped in the first layer. Then different kinds of sherbet or even ice cream. Give this one a try and impress your friends and family. It’s a beautiful summer treat!

 

 

 

 

One response to “Dessert #2

  1. Mom says:

    Looks pretty and refreshing!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

