Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Chocolate Sheet Cake

on August 13, 2014

When I first saw this recipe, I thought it was a big regular sheet cake, not one made in a jelly roll pan. It wasn’t until I read through the whole recipe that I realized what size it was talking about. I found this Chocolate Sheet Cake recipe in ALL of the recipe files I have from EVERYONE! So, I thought, it must be good. The original name on it was one of Grandma’s sisters. I love this summer photo of Grandma and a sister and a cousin (Grandma is on the right).

Chocolate Sheet Cake]

It looks like they’re picking either strawberries or blueberries. I love the berry baskets they’re holding. I bought some like that (without a handle) in the 80s to stencil on and I remember Grandma telling me that they had those when she was young and how they used those when they picked berries. I’d like to think that they picked their berries and then came inside for a big piece of this Chocolate Sheet Cake. It’s possible. This one is totally from scratch and could have been around since then.

Chocolatle Sheet Cake

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Chocolate Sheet Cake

1.) Bring to a boil: 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup oil, 1 cup water

2.) Mix together: 2 cups white sugar, 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1/4 cup cocoa

3.) Pour #2 over #1.

Add:

2 beaten eggs

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, dissolved in 1/2 cup buttermilk

1 teaspoon vanilla

Put in greased jelly roll pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

Frosting

Melt:

1/2 cup butter

1/3 cup buttermilk

Pour over 1 pound (1/2 bag – I don’t think it comes in a box anymore) powdered sugar, 1/4 cup cocoa, 1 cup chopped walnuts.

Add:

1 teaspoon vanilla.

Frost cake while hot.

004

I had all the ingredients lined up for this one.

005

The batter just fits into the jelly roll pan.

006

The ingredients were all lined up for the frosting, too.

014

It was hard to move the walnuts around on the cake once the frosting is poured on. My husband’s suggestion – just add more walnuts next time!

039

This recipe makes a very moist cake.

047

It’s another one that’s so easy and takes very little time to make. Give this a try next time you have a potluck, work event, or family gathering to go to. Everyone will be glad you did!

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Chocolate Sheet Cake

  1. Mom says:

    It is soooo good!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

