Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Glazed Peach Pie

on August 15, 2014

We made this Peach Pie every August growing up, as far back as I can remember. This one didn’t come from Grandma, although I know she made it. I found the recipe in that old church cookbook my mom gave to me. There wasn’t a date on it but most of the recipes marked in there were first tried in the 60’s. We’d get a whole “crate” of peaches every year and we would eat peaches ’til we couldn’t eat anymore. They were so big and fuzzy and juicy – and man oh man, the smell of them!! Sometimes we would can sauce, sometimes we would freeze slices, and sometimes we would make pie. It’s probably a good thing we didn’t grow peaches in our yard. None of them would have made it to fruition.

Glazed Peach Pie

Glazed Peach Pie 2

This is one of my all-time favorites!

Here is the recipe as I made it

Glazed Peach Pie

4 cups sliced peaches

1/2 cup water

1 cup white sugar

3 Tablespoons cornstarch

1 Tablespoon butter

1. Crush enough peaches to make 1 cup, leaving the rest sliced.

2. Combine crushed peaches with water, sugar, and cornstarch, mixing sugar and cornstarch together first (this eliminates the lumps of cornstarch that can occur).

3. Bring to a boil.

4. Cook over low heat until clear, 2 or 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.

5. Add butter. Cool.

6. Line baked pie shell with fresh peach slices (I used a graham cracker crust – find a recipe here).

7. Pour glaze mixture over peach slices, making sure all are covered.

8. Chill at least 2 hours.

017

I like using a graham cracker crust instead of a flour based crust whenever I can. I just like it better.

022

The glaze really makes this pie so good!

003

This one is pretty straightforward.

005

There’s really not much to say. You’ll love this recipe. Again – so good and so easy.

Wow –  I love this pie.

 

One response to “Glazed Peach Pie

  1. […] we ate ALL the peaches. I have posted a couple of recipes for Peach Pie with Never Fail Crust and Glazed Peach Pie, but I decided that there must be a way to make a Peach Crisp, and I decided to try an experiment […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

