Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Peach Jam

on August 25, 2014

I just had to share this picture that I found in an old photo album recently, of Grandma and two of her sisters from 1929. Grandma is the girl in the light-colored coat and her two sisters are on either side of her.

Peach Jam

It looks like they were enjoying a day “in town”! Grandma is holding some books, so maybe she is on her way to school. She lived with family friends during the week so she could go to high school in town. Their farm was about 5 miles out, so I’m sure it was quite a ride to make twice a day every day back then.

Now for today’s recipe. It’s the time of summer for peaches! Yay! I love peaches. Yesterday, my daughters helped me make Peach Jam. We’ve made a couple of kinds of jam and they’re really getting into it!

Peach Jam

One of my daughters renamed this recipe “Beach Jam” since it has a more tropical feel than peach.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Peach Jam

Grind together (I used a food processor):

3 pounds of peaches

1 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple with juice

1/2 jar of maraschino cherries (even though she had crossed it out and added it at the end, I only used half and put them in all together and it came out fine)

2 oranges, cut in chunks, peel and all (the peel has the pectin to make it thick)

Mix together in a large pot:

Fruit

3 pounds white sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

Boil for 30 minutes.

Put into jars.

Seal with a hot water bath for 10 minutes. I do have a canner, but when doing smaller jars, I use my stockpot with a silicone trivet in the bottom to hold the jars off of the bottom of the pot. For a hot water bath: Fill pot with enough water to cover jars 1″ when they’re all in there. Boil the water, then put the jars in and start the timing.

Cool.

003

I processed the fruit individually – there wasn’t room for all of it at the same time.

005

I weighed out the peaches on my food scale. I could only fit a pound at a time in the bowl.

014

It looks a bit soupy until the end of the cooking. I considered adding some gel pectin I had until it started to thicken at the end.

017

Using a funnel helps in the jarring process.

019

With all of the canning and jamming I’ve been doing, I had to scramble a bit for jars. These are all shapes and sizes.

022

The jars are so pretty and also great for gift giving.

025

This Peach Jam is a bit different. It’s not just peaches, so it does taste a bit more like fruit cocktail jam. That’s why my daughter renamed it Beach Jam. So tropical and so tasty!

 

 

2 responses to “Peach Jam

  1. dosirakbento says:

    What a lovely picture of your grandmother. Is this also her recipe (and handwriting)?

  2. Thank you for your lovely comment! Yes, this is her recipe in her handwriting. I’m lucky enough to have a lot of them!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

