Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Lemonade

on September 3, 2014

We still have a few hot days left before the cool fall weather sets in and after a purchasing a whole bag of lemons at my local Costco, I decided to get this recipe on before we run out of those hot days. Today’s recipe is from my other Grandma. She always made fresh Lemonade when the family was coming over for dinner in the summer time. She loved it when the whole family would be there and she could cook a big meal. I’m not sure why I remember those summer nights more than any other time of the year. I remember lemonade, watermelon, grilled hot dogs, the cole slaw with bananas or pineapple, and home-made vanilla ice cream. They had a big garden in their backyard and they loved to eat and can the vegetables. They would plant lettuce (which she served with a yummy dressing made with mayonnaise, sugar, and vinegar), radishes and green onions (which my Gramp would eat dipped in salt), tomatoes, beets (which she would can and also make pickles from), and cucumbers (which she would try to make dill pickles from but never seemed to get quite right). This photo of Grandma and Gramp would have been taken about the time of their wedding in 1930. I wonder if this was their wedding day. I do remember her showing me her wedding dress that was a light blue crepe (and I don’t remember enough about it to know if it’s the one she’s wearing here or not) but I don’t remember ever seeing an official wedding portrait. I’m sure it’s just one of those things that you regret not asking about until after they’re gone and then it’s too late. Maybe they didn’t have the money for it. This was just after the start of the Great Depression and it must have been a scary time to get married and start a family.

Lemonade

But I love this picture of them. It’s nice to see them so young and with their arms around each other.

There isn’t a recipe card for this.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Lemonade

1 cup of fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup of white sugar

1 quart of water

You can adjust this to your own taste. Some people like it sweeter, some people like it more lemony. I like to add lots of ice, so that adds to the water element. You could make a simple syrup, too, if you think that’s easier. I have also heard of people warming it all, too, to make it easier to dissolve the sugar. It just takes a bit of stirring. I mix the lemon juice and sugar together first to dissolve the sugar and then add the water. Add lemon slices and ice and you have a refreshing drink on a hot summer day. Or any day.

003

There are many ways to squeeze a lemon. This is my favorite!

007

You know what’s in here when you don’t use a mix. Lemon juice, sugar, and water. That’s it. Nothing that you can’t pronounce.

011

I was also able to use the mint from my herb pots from my deck. You can find a post about them here.

036

Enjoy an old-fashioned drink on a hot summer day.

So good.

So classic.

 

2 responses to “Lemonade

  1. […] also easier to break off what you need when it is frozen flat. Use this over the summer to make Lemonade, Lemon Meringue Pie, or Lemon Meringue Pie […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

