Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

After School Snacks

on September 5, 2014

I loved school. Here is a picture of me on what must have been the first day of 2nd Grade. You can see that I didn’t have a backpack – I had a briefcase! I actually got to walk the 3 blocks to school back then! One day I went home with a friend after school to see her Easy Bake Oven. I wanted one so badly and wanted to see what it was all about. Obviously I was already interested in the baking thing even then. After a demonstration, I didn’t understand the appeal. Why not just use the real oven and make something of a normal size? I hadn’t told my mom or my grandma (who lived next door and babysat me when my parents were working) that I was going to my friend’s house and I didn’t come home until dinner time. Boy, was I in trouble! I never did that again. I didn’t realize how scary that was for them until I had my own kids. Isn’t that just the way it goes?

back to scvhool (5)

The next summer we would move from living in town to living on the lake and for 3rd grade, I would attend a 2 room country school. One room had 1st-3rd grades and the other room had 4th-6th grades. There were 8 kids in my 3rd grade class. It had a bathroom separating the two rooms and a downstairs kitchen/cafeteria area. My desk was next to the big front windows and under the windows were three shelves full of books! Man, I loved to read (still do!)! I would sit in my desk and look longingly at all of those books. On one of the first days of school, the teacher announced that throughout the year, we would be having a reading contest and the winner would get a certificate. No problem. I don’t remember exactly how many books I read, but I think it was in the 300-400 range (this was 3rd grade, after all). The winning certificate with the photo of the pink lady’s-slipper flower on the front is still packed away with all of my other childhood mementos!

Since it’s back-to-school time, I thought I’d share some previous posts that contain treats that may be considered After School Snacks.

106

Choc-Toffee Bars

017

Oatmeal Muffins

036

Chocolate Pudding

034

Chocolate Chip Blonde Brownies

053

Rocky Road Squares

027

Caramel Corn

013

Graham Cracker Cookies

There are many treats posted here and there that would be appropriate for after school snacks.

Please browse and check them out!

Enjoy and Happy Back to School!

 

2 responses to “After School Snacks

  1. Mom says:

    Those yummy after school treats………..

  2. dosirakbento says:

    Lovely to read about your school memories. I can imagine those books must have looked very tempting from your desk

    The after school snacks look good too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

