Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Lemon Banana Pie

on September 15, 2014

The recipe for today is another one that is a bit unusual. This Lemon Banana Pie is a different take on the usual Lemon Meringue Pie. The combination of lemon and banana is kind of weird. My theory about why there is banana in it, is that maybe because there is no straining of the lemon custard involved, the lemon peel and banana may have helped cover some lumping of the egg and/or cornstarch. These farm women were in a hurry! I know that Grandma and the rest of her family loved lemon and I’m sure they loved this pie. Lemon must have been one of those things that was more readily available for making sweets in the old days. Citrus and fruit in general was hard to come by until they started shipping it up here to the frozen north, and I’m sure it was expensive. It was a special occasion and you would use something special in your celebration treats.

Lemon Banana Pie

Lemon Banana Pie 2

Note the “V Good” connotation!

Grandma said on the card that she didn’t put in the banana. I did for this first try at it.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Lemon Banana Pie

You will need one pre-baked pie crust. I use a Martha Stewart recipe that you can find here.

1 1/2 cup white sugar

6 Tablespoons corn starch (I would add an extra tablespoon or so next time to make the filling a bit thicker)

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 cups boiling water

3 eggs, separated, yolks slightly beaten

grated peel of one lemon

1 1/2 cup lemon juice

2 bananas

Combine sugar, corn starch, and salt.

Add boiling water.

Cook and stir until it thickens and boils for 2 minutes.

Add small amount of hot liquid to egg yolks and bend.

Add egg yolks to rest and cook 2 minutes longer.

Add lemon juice and lemon peel.

Cool.

Slice one banana into pie crust and add half of lemon filling.

Add another sliced banana and then rest of filling.

For meringue, beat egg whites (I would add an extra white or two to make a higher meringue) with 1/3 cup white sugar, spread on pie, and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.

038

My grandmas both made treats with the left over pie crust. Sometimes we made little mini pies with it, but sometimes we just put cinnamon and sugar on it and had it with our afternoon coffee. Nothing was ever thrown away. Even if I didn’t have coffee at the time, I had a treat!

032

I rarely have much leftover, but this time I did and I had to go down memory lane! It was great with my afternoon coffee.

048

Ok – here we go with the lemon and banana combination.

051054

I would use a deep dish pie pan next time. This pan didn’t have enough depth for two layers of banana.

080

The more meringue, the merrier, so I’d use an extra white or two next time.

091

You can just barely see the banana peeking through the lemon filling here.

098

This was a very tangy, sweet, luscious pie. Even though it was a bit unusual, I’d give it a try. It might be your new favorite!

 

 

One response to “Lemon Banana Pie

  1. mom says:

    Looks, sounds excellent!

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

