Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Russian Tea

on September 17, 2014

I seem to be very happy about having a snack in this photo. It says May of 1962, so I must have been about 17 months old. Seriously – what’s with those bangs?!!! I’m pretty sure that I’m looking for something to dip my cracker in. If only I had today’s recipe at the time, I’m sure this Russian Tea would have done the trick.
Russian Tea

This recipe, again, comes courtesy of my 7th Grade Home Economics class. You can tell by my handwriting on the card that I’ve had this recipe for a long time. Fall has always been my favorite time of  year and the aroma of this Russian Tea is just the epitome of fall and the holidays. The spices and the orange in this tea are what bring back memories of fall activities like my dad hunting, harvesting the garden, raking leaves, baling hay at grandma and grandpa’s farm, picking pumpkins, Halloween parties, not to mention all of the holiday fun.

Russian Tea

This is another great recipe from the 1970’s.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Russian Tea

Mix together:

1 jar Tang (1 lb. 2 oz. size)

1/2 cup unsweetened instant tea

1 package of Wyler lemonade mix (I don’t remember if this was originally supposed to be sweetened or just a plain packet of lemonade and I used Kool Aid lemonade because I couldn’t find Wyler’s anywhere. If it was supposed to be sweetened, I don’t miss the extra sugar in it. It’s plenty sweet!)

2 cups white sugar

2 Tablespoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

Use 2 heaping teaspoons per cup of boiling water (you can adjust to your own liking).

159

Just throw everything into a bowl and mix together.

171

It makes a pretty big batch since you only use 2 teaspoons per cup. There’s enough to share or give as gifts.

174

Biscotti is great to serve with this for your afternoon coffee break. You can find a post on how to make biscotti here.

177

Try this Russian Tea during the fall and holiday season. It’s sure to get you in the mood!

 

 

 

5 responses to “Russian Tea

  1. mom says:

    Love that Russian tea, and the picture!

  2. Doreen deVos says:

    Carla
    I love the Russian Tea recipe, we must have had the same good recipes growing up.
    I just want to comment on the bangs, my sister and had the same style, so it must have been “the in thing” then. Mom always cut ours, too. You look cute!
    Doreen

  3. […] are PERFECT with a nice hot cup of something: coffee, tea, Hot Chocolate Mix, Russian Tea, Viennese Coffee, Instant Cappuccino Coffee, Grandma’s Cocoa, apple cider, Wassail, Hot […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

