Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Brown Sugar Cake with Brown Sugar Icing

on September 22, 2014

The recipe I’m doing for today is another one that I don’t remember Grandma making. I know I’d remember it if she had made it when I was around. This Brown Sugar Cake with Brown Sugar Icing is now one of my favorite recipes that I’ve done since starting this blog. The cake is dense and the dates and nuts, along with the addition of the orange peel, give it almost a fruitcake-like feel. I didn’t think the addition of the orange peel would make such a big difference, in fact I almost left it out, but that’s what takes this cake over the top. The scent of orange when you take a bite – amazing! The icing is really good, too. It’s more like a layer of candy sitting on top of the cake. So I think we can conclude that, yes, this recipe is one you should try. I think you’ll like it as much as I do.

Brown Sugar Cake

Brown Sugar Icing

Caramel Frosting b

These icing recipes were on a card back to back. I used the one on the front and it only made enough for a small cake. I had to make two batches of it and then mix them together so I would have enough for the whole cake. The second recipe seems like it would cover a full cake.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Brown Sugar Cake with Brown Sugar Icing

Cream together:

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup butter

1 1/2 cup brown sugar

Mix in:

3 eggs

Sift together and add to creamed mixture:

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 package of dates, chopped

1 cup of nuts, chopped (I used pecans)

grated peel of 1 orange mixed in to 2 cups of all-purpose flour

Put batter in 9′ x 13″ pan and bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

(Note that there are no instructions for size of pan, time, or temperature to bake. We should know this stuff, people. I’m getting as bad as Grandma. I almost left it off, too! Ha!)

Brown Sugar Icing

(I’ll give the doubled recipe here.)

12 Tablespoons brown sugar

6 tablespoons cream

2 Tablespoons butter

Bring to a good boil and pour over 2 cups powdered sugar.

Add 2 teaspoons vanilla.

Beat.

026

You can see all the goodies hidden in the batter.

056058

The cake bakes up golden brown and fragrant and the icing is so smooth and creamy.

078

I’m glad I found this recipe. It’s going to get a lot of use from now on!

070

Try this one! You’ll love it as much as I do!

 

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

