Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Apple Crisp

on October 3, 2014

This recipe is a lot like one that I posted last year for Apple Dessert, which is the standard in our family for what we call apple crisp. I have since found a recipe actually called Apple Crisp that is one of the old ones in Grandma’s file, written in fountain pen. It’s very similar, but since the objective here on Plenty Sweet Life is to make all of Grandma’s recipes, I thought I’d also give this one a try. A friend of ours has an apple tree that bears fruit every other year and this is supposed to be the off-year, but for some reason, it had fruit THIS year, and he just gave us a five gallon bucket of apples.

010

They’re beautiful apples, but not quite as big as in a normal year. He doesn’t know exactly why the tree bore fruit this year, but it could be the weird weather we’ve been having. My husband and my son have made hard cider the last two times the tree had fruit – they’re learning – let’s just put it that way. Last year we canned two quarts of apple cider/juice for our traditional Thanksgiving spiced cider, one used last year and one to use this year, so we may end up making more now! My kids still want homemade applesauce so I may use the rest for that. Grandma taught me how to do that, too, so I’ll put the recipe on the blog if I do.

Apple Crisp

I just love the look of fountain pen writing!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Apple Crisp

4 cups or about 4 apples, sliced (these were kind of small apples so I used 10)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup sifted all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup butter

Put apples in dish (again – no size indicated but I used an 8″ x 12′ foil pan as I was taking it to a friend’s house)

Sprinkle with salt.

Mix flour, cinnamon, and sugar together.

Rub butter into flour mixture until crumbly.

Spread (or sprinkle) this over apples.

Bake uncovered.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or at 325 degrees for 1 hour.

004020

These are pretty simple ingredients and it’s ridiculously simple to do. This would be a good one for a beginner to start with!

017023

I can see where a smaller dish would be ok for this, too. It would make a thicker dessert, that’s for sure.

027

After baking, the apples are soft and tender and the crust is golden and crusty.

028

This is such a simple, casual dessert – great with ice cream or whipped cream. I know that Grandma and Grandpa would make apple crisp and freeze it so they could take it out later in the winter. Just bake in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes or so and it’s just like fresh-baked. Maybe try 30 minutes if it’s not thawed. I never get to the point of freezing it – it’s gone too fast!

033

This is definitely good old comfort food. There’s nothing like the smell of apples and cinnamon baking on a cool and rainy fall day. Thanks, Sven, for the apples!

 

3 responses to “Apple Crisp

  1. […] used some of these apples to make Apple Crisp a few weeks ago and you can read more of the story of his tree on that post. Grandma and Grandpa […]

  2. […] of his wonderful apples and I’ve been taking advantage and making lots of treats with them: Apple Crisp, Applesauce, and Apple Pie with Old-Fashioned Pie Crust. You can see his big, beautiful apple […]

  3. […] there must be a way to make a Peach Crisp, and I decided to try an experiment and make it using the Apple Crisp recipe that I’ve also posted before. Let’s see what […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

