Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Graham Cracker Pie

on October 8, 2014

The recipe for today is one that looked good on the surface, but when I got into it, it was a challenge. I made this Graham Cracker Pie for our family dinner on Sunday and everyone agreed – this one is a keeper – it just needs a little tweaking. Some of the necessary instructions were missing, so I had to guess (and look some things up online) how to do some things. That’s just the way Grandma cooked and baked – she knew how to do it, but we don’t always remember how she did it or didn’t even see her do it. My mom did things that way, too, and me and my sister have to figure out what she means. Some recipes are just written down with ingredients and no instructions. I’m guilty of that, too. My daughters get mad that I don’t have certain recipes written down right or that I don’t use exact measurements. “You just put some in . . . ” After running my own home for more than 30 years, there are just things you get good at. They will be good at it, too – they already are! That’s one reason why I’m doing this blog – so all of those family recipes ARE written down with instructions and they have a resource to go to. So, here we go . . .

Graham Cracker Pie

One great thing about this recipe is the amazing crust!

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Graham Cracker Pie

Read through recipe before starting. There were things I had to add to the instructions for the custard.

Mix for crust:

16 graham crackers, crushed fine (8 of the large double ones)

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Reserve 1/2 cup for top of pie.

The card doesn’t say to bake, but I did bake it for 8 minutes at 350 degrees.

(Some recipes online said not to bake the crust. I think you can do whatever you prefer.)

Filling:

2 cups milk

3 eggs, separated

1 cup sugar

4 Tablespoons flour

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 teaspoon lemon juice

Scald milk (heated just to boiling, but not boiling).

Beat egg yolks and add 1/2 cup sugar, flour, and flavoring.

Mix well and slowly add the scalded milk.

(Here’s where things get a bit dicey. It says that it takes about 20 minutes to thicken, but it doesn’t say whether to stop there and chill it or add it back to the pan and cook it to thicken. When I looked online, I couldn’t find any recipes for this exact custard, so I started by putting it into the refrigerator for 20 minutes and the only part that thickened was the 1/8″ on the bottom of the bowl. Next I put it into a saucepan and brought it to a boil and boiled for 2 minutes. That thickened it some. So that’s what I went with.)

Add all custard ingredients to saucepan, bring to a boil, and boil for 2 minutes.

Beat egg whites with 1/2 cup sugar and carefully spread meringue over custard.

Sprinkle reserved graham cracker crumbs over top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Cool on rack for 1 hour and then chill in refrigerator for 3 hours.

(I found this info online, also, and it made all the difference.)

011

Adding the cinnamon gives the crust an amazing aroma. I don’t use the word “amazing” too often. It’s amazing.

012017

The meringue is tricky to spread on top of the custard, but just be gentle. Don’t forget to top with the crumbs!

019

After baking, the meringue is puffed and golden. It does deflate after sitting and refrigerating.

028

If left to chill the recommended time, I think this would be fine, but we couldn’t wait the whole time. We tried a bit too early.

023

You can see that we should have left it in the refrigerator a bit longer and that the meringue deflated in there. This pie is delicious. The addition of the cinnamon in the crust and the vanilla and lemon in the custard make this so tasty. I did have to figure it out, but it’s definitely a keeper. Definitely.

 

7 responses to “Graham Cracker Pie

  1. mom says:

    YUM, I remember how good that is………………

  2. […] are recipes for graham cracker or regular pie crust, or you could (gasp) get a store-bought […]

  3. […] Here is the recipe for a graham cracker crust that I used. […]

  4. […] 1-9 inch pie shell, baked (I used a graham cracker crust) […]

  5. […] a 9″ baked pie crust ready (wanting to try something different, I used a graham cracker crust for this […]

  6. […] use a store-bought crust only because it’s easier, but you can make your own and here is a great recipe for […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

