Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Applesauce

on October 22, 2014

Today I’m using up some of the apples that our friend, Sven, gave us. He has a big and very old apple tree that normally just gives fruit every other year, but it gave fruit last year AND this year. My husband took this photo of his beautiful old tree.

Sven's tree

I used some of these apples to make Apple Crisp a few weeks ago and you can read more of the story of his tree on that post. Grandma and Grandpa also had an apple tree when they moved to town, but when they lived on the farm, they would get apples from friends and then we would all help make pies, apple crisp, and applesauce. My kids LOVED this Applesauce when they were growing up, and I still make it every year if I can. They would never want to have to buy store-bought applesauce! It’s so easy to make that there isn’t a recipe card for it.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Applesauce

Stock pot full of apples, halved, quartered, or sliced

1/2 cup of water, to start, more if it gets too thick

1/2 cup sugar, to start, you can add more or less to taste

1 teaspoon cinnamon

dash of nutmeg

Cook until apples break down and become as smooth or as chunky as you like.

You can eat it as it is at this point, or can it like I do (I got 4 pints out of this batch) and save some for the winter.

I put it in sterilized jars, can in water bath for 25 minutes, and save it for a snowy winters day in February when you need a little summertime in a jar!

006

Sven gave us a 5 gallon bucket full of gorgeous apples!

005

My apple peeler won’t work on these apples, they’re too small. It’s cut and peel by hand for this one!

009

I started out slicing the apples, but ended up quartering them – it took me awhile! 🙂

010

Put everything in the pot and put the cover on and let it cook.

013

Even though the applesauce is thick, a funnel helps to keep everything in there.

021

Four of these beautiful, sweet jars doesn’t seem like enough. I may have to make another batch. Try this easy recipe for apple pie in a jar! It’s best served in the middle of winter when we’re tired of the wind and snow. Delicious.

 

2 responses to “Applesauce

  1. […] apples and I’ve been taking advantage and making lots of treats with them: Apple Crisp, Applesauce, and Apple Pie with Old-Fashioned Pie Crust. You can see his big, beautiful apple tree here. […]

  2. […] jar of the applesauce I spent 3 hours canning last fall. You can find the recipe for the applesauce here. Oh well, I’m sure these muffins are WAAAAAYYY better with homemade applesauce instead of […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

