Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Autumn Gold Pumpkin Cake

on November 7, 2014

I really love November because I really love the change of seasons. We really notice the change here in Minnesota when this month hits. My oldest daughter was born on November 5 and I remember that the year she was born, I went into the hospital and it was all golden October with its fall colors and when we came home from the hospital, it was drab November with its bare trees and muted colors. She was our flash of color in November THAT year! ūüôā The first week of November¬†seems to be the changeover every year. It also seems to be about the time of our first snow flakes and it’s been rare when there hasn’t been¬†some on my daughter’s birthday. November¬†is also¬†THE month for pumpkin.¬†On my last post we learned how to freeze pumpkin for using in pies, cakes, and muffins, and even though we’re not using any of that pumpkin today (but you could), we’re going to get a start on our pumpkin recipes. Grandma’s¬†recipe today is Autumn Gold Pumpkin Cake and it’s again – one of my new favorites. So good.

Autumn Gold Pumpkin Cake

This cake is really tasty and so easy to do.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Autumn Gold Pumpkin Cake

Mix on medium speed for 4 minutes:

1 box of Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Butter Recipe Golden Cake Mix (she said her sister used a yellow cake mix and so did I)

3 eggs

1 cup water

1 cup solid pack pumpkin

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Stir in:

1 cup walnuts, chopped

The card says to put the batter into 2 greased and floured 8″ cake pans, but I used a 9″ x 13″ cake pan.

Bake at 375 degrees for 30-35 minutes.

For Frosting:

Mix together:

1 can (16 oz.) Duncan Hines Vanilla Frosting

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Garnish with:

1/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

001

I don’t think I really need to show you how beautifully thick the batter is, but I will anyway.

005

You can see the flecks of pumpkin and spices in the batter.

006

It’s a little easier to see the spices after baking.

007

I don’t think it shows up, but you can see the cinnamon in the frosting. I¬†didn’t think¬†that little bit of cinnamon would make such a huge difference, but it makes the frosting taste more homemade and less store-bought.

009

I’m not a huge fan of nuts in cake, so I left them out. I did put nuts on top, but I used toasted pecans instead of walnuts.

022

Adding these few ingredients make this cake special and tasty, yet still so easy to do!

027

This cake truly is one of my new favorites, just right for this pumpkin-crazy time of year!

 

 

 

One response to “Autumn Gold Pumpkin Cake

  1. […] Pie – the Chiffon Kind, Pumpkin Pie Dessert, Pumpkin Cake, Pumpkin Cream Cheese Pie , and Autumn Gold Pumpkin Cake. I’ve done Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds, Freezing Pumpkin, and Knit Pumpkins. I […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne p√• i kj√łkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

