Plenty Sweet Life

Grandma's Recipes One By One!

Pumpkin Pie – the Chiffon Kind

on November 24, 2014

This recipe is named Pumpkin Pie, but I added the chiffon thing. It’s from this day forward going to be known as Pumpkin Pie – the Chiffon Kind so I know what to do with it. This recipe was a bit of a challenge. It’s a list of ingredients, but not much in the way of instructions. I did see that on the back of the card, there was a recipe for a graham cracker crust, so at least I knew to do that. When it came to the filling, that was a little trickier. I noticed that it asked for gelatin. Hmm. Gelatin isn’t something that usually goes in the oven. So I went online and found this exact recipe on AllRecipes.com. This pie goes in the refrigerator, not the oven. If I would have put it into the oven, I would have had a mess! And so it goes with these recipes! 🙂

Pumpkin Pie and Crust

Pumpkin Pie and Crust 2

This makes a big pie. I had enough filling to put into glasses and use for dessert.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

Pumpkin Pie

For crust:

18 (whole big graham crackers are actually counted as 2 crackers) graham crackers

1/4 cup sugar

1/3 cup butter, melted

Mix together, press into pie pan, and bake at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes.

Cool completely.

For filling:

Mix together:

3 egg yolks

1/2 cup sugar

Add:

1 1/4 cups cooked or canned pumpkin

1/2 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon each of salt, ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Cook in double boiler until thick.

Stir into hot mixture:

1 envelope of unflavored gelatin dissolved in 1/4 cup cold water.

Beat:

3 egg whites to medium peaks.

Gradually add 1/2 cup sugar and beat to stiff peaks.

Fold filling mixture into egg whites.

Pour filling into crust and chill in refrigerator for several hours or overnight.

Top with whipped cream.

001

I love graham cracker crusts!

008

In my makeshift double boiler, the pumpkin part looks just like a regular pumpkin pie.

009

I whipped the egg whites before heating the pumpkin so they’re ready to go in.

012

Mix the egg whites into the pumpkin part and that’s it!

015

It made more than I needed for the pie.

030

I poured it into glasses and we had them for dessert that night!

004

Top the whipped cream with a few graham cracker crumbs – just to make it pretty.

011 (2)

This is a different kind of pumpkin pie, but still sooooo delicious. And did I mention that  you can make this the day before? Love that!

 

 

2 responses to “Pumpkin Pie – the Chiffon Kind

  1. mom says:

    It looks, sounds delicious!!!

  2. […] many great things to do with it. I’ve posted a few recipes over the years. I’ve done Pumpkin Pie – the Chiffon Kind, Pumpkin Pie Dessert, Pumpkin Cake, Pumpkin Cream Cheese Pie , and Autumn Gold Pumpkin Cake. […]

Leave a Reply

Passion 4 baking

Jeg blogger om min passion for baking og matlaging og allt det spennende man kan finne på i kjøkkenet med kaker, cupcakes, cakepops og ulike frostinger

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

